Some Changes/Update

I’ve been meaning to write a blog post for a couple weeks, but in lieu of some life changes and spending a lot of time way too focused on my personal life in the past week… it’s time I finally did something. There’s been a lot of wasted hours spent how I’d work this post, but all I seem to be good at when dispersing large amounts of information is putting it into lists. So let’s stick with that trend:

  1. New job!

Almost two weeks ago now, I started a new part-time job as a Retail Sales Associate at the Fleet Feet Sports specialty running store in Old Town. So far, I’ve sold a couple pairs of shoes (with assistance from other employees — I’m not quite ready to be making recommendations yet… but getting there), and I’m starting to get more acquainted with the store. And I’m absolutely loving it. The people I work with are really cool, it’s awesome to get paid to talk about running, and it’s a new perspective on the Chicago running community. News flash: still loving it. The timing couldn’t have been better for this job too, because it’s served as a good distraction from other things.

2. Personal life

I’d rather not explicitly say what happened, but my personal life took a pretty big shift from the past few months. At first, it hit really really hard. I actually had my first full-day shift at Fleet Feet the day after, and most of that time was spent re-filling nutrition and apparel just so I’d stay busy and keep my mind off it. But by the time my break came, I finally blurt out what happened to one of my new co-workers… and it turned out to be the best thing that could have happened? He ended up giving me a great perspective on the situation, and changed the course of a conversation I had later that evening. Since then, I’ve spent little time licking my wounds (okay, except last Sunday night. But even then it wasn’t completely tragic), and I’ve spent more time thinking about what comes next, and how I can move forward from this seemingly large blow to the gut. Which leads me to…

3. Post-grad

It doesn’t matter how it came about, but I’ve been seriously thinking about going to grad school for a few weeks now. And up until recently, I always thought that would be in the Southeast. But now… it seems like the world has opened up completely. I’m just now starting the process of looking at other cities I’d want to move to, other schools that could be great options, and starting to get that information of application deadlines and financial aid details put on paper — but I still think it’s something I really want to move forward with. And who knows, maybe my dream of moving abroad will take form. Who knows. All I know is I do not want to take the GRE.

4. Drum corps

This isn’t so much a new thing, but I’ve decided to march my actual age out with Spirit of Atlanta once again. I’m so beyond excited for all the incredible things about to happen, but I am in dire need of financial assistance. More here.

5. “What I Talk About When I Talk About Running”

I think another reason I’ve handled #2 as well as I think I have been is because I’ve been reading Haruki Murakami’s memoir, “What I Talk About When I Talk About Running.” It’s been pretty healing and helping me out with this actualization and self-discovery I’m trying to go through before deciding which grad schools to apply to… after all, “Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional” and “people basically become runners because they’re meant to.” It’s also dawned on me recently (also because of Fleet Feet) how desperately I want to run a marathon before I finish school. So, I’ve registered for a training program and I’ll most likely use that to assist me in marathon training… and then decide if I’ll actually register for the thing in a month or two. I’ve got some time, but the decision starts now.

Anyway, that’s the brief update/snapshot of where we are. Stay with us. More to come.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

