April-August Resolutions Check-In

Apologies, dear reader, for the prolonged absence, and I know I have some explaining to do… So I figured I’d do it in the form of a check-in on my New Years resolutions. Because believe it or not, I’ve been holding myself to them, and it’s been working in my favor so far. I think.

Anyway, here we go:

  1. Pay Attention in Class
    This summer I spent upwards of 16 hours a day working my butt off on a football field somewhere around the country. Although it’s not a “classroom” environment, it’s a learning experience, and it’s really easy to be distracted. But, I’m happy to say that I did the best I could for 77 days of paying attention, and I learned a ton about color guard, spinning, dancing, and myself. Because I learned so much, I feel like a much better teacher for the two schools I work with in the late summer/fall, and I was able to write the largest chunk of choreography I’ve ever had to in the shortest amount of time I’ve been allotted yet. So hoo-ray for getting better, and I’m hoping to apply some of these techniques as my final undergraduate school year commences in the next few days.

    IMG_5380
    Probably thinking about some instruction Travis gave us (PC: Erin Sintos)
  2. Become Too Busy for Social Media
    An easy one to accomplish while on tour over the summer — and even in the past three weeks in the post-tour haze. Between teaching two band camps and having my ex-roommate (but still-friend) visit from New York, I’ve found myself spending less time on social media, and more time soaking in real life. My phone is still pretty much always glued to my hand, but I’m chalking that up to my long-distance relationship (and I think once school starts and I’m busy again, I’ll be better about that).

    IMG_5392
    Sam (ex-roommate), Jessie (4th year roommate) and myself probably watching cartoons
  3. Stop Beating Myself Up
    Since getting back from tour, I’ve had to ease myself back into running. Something I knew would have to happen, but that doesn’t make it any easier. What has made it bearable is knowing that I won’t get injured [as easily], and after spending a lot of my summer in pain, (or not able to stand up out of my bus seat by myself), I’ve been able to feel better about only being able to run a 5K when I’d rather clock in 8 miles. Today, though, is going to be my first 10-miler post tour. And I can’t even tell you how excited I am to get to cruise along the path for a portion of my Saturday.

    IMG_5240
    Post 8-miler pic in the new apartment
  4. “Me Time” Every Day
    Probably the most difficult one to achieve, but I’m happy to say that it’s gotten better since I returned to Chicago post-tour. I bought myself a book (“The Art of Doing” by Camille Sweeney and Josh Gosfield), and I’m making a point to read at least a chapter every day from it. Which is pretty easy — not only because the chapters are nice and short — but because they’re so interesting. The other big “me time” contributor can be found below:

    IMG_5390
    I do still listen to a lot of “Hamilton” – and will be seeing it in November thanks to my friend Taylor!
  5. Take in More Art
    Along with reading my book, something I missed fiercely over the summer was discovering new music. Since getting home, I’ve spent as much time as possible scouring Spotify for all of the new music that was released over the summer to get caught up. Yesterday I sat at my desk for about four hours just listening to music and getting some work done (like ordering business cards and going through old blog posts and cleaning my email inbox up). It was a pretty incredible feeling; not only getting work done, but also getting lost in great tunage. In addition to reading and studio-recorded music, I’m also setting myself up for taking advantage of my 21-ness (and therefore, not being hit with age restriction to the music events I can go to), and I’ve started to fill my live show calendar up. So far, I’ll be hitting up Schubas on Tuesday for Haley Bonar, Lincoln Hall on the 17th for Wild Child, The Chicago Theatre (for the first time!) on the 23rd for Lake Street Dive, and the Metro (also for the first time) on November 3rd for LANY. In addition to the live music shows, tonight I plan to go to the Flat Iron Comedy in Wicker Park for one of my friend’s comedy shows, We Still Like You.


  6. Write More
    Besides the post about band, a big thing happened that I’m trying to not let affect this blog (but obviously, it has). In May, I applied on a whim for a Contributing Writer position for Atwood Magazine. A few days later, I got an email back offering me the position, and even though it’s unpaid and I was about to leave for three months, it’s a pretty awesome opportunity — and I’m happy to say that thanks to the awesome team, they let me take the position anyway and there’s going to be a lot more music-related articles from this girl here. So, I think it’s also safe to say that I’m successfully completing this resolution. And with that, I do want to try and get weekly posts on “xyz” over here, so stay tuned.
  7. Become Passionate Again
    This has turned into the most terrifying resolution ever — the scary thing about passion is that you can throw yourself completely into something, and you can still crash and get a few burn marks. A few months ago, I told you about an internship I didn’t get. I applied for the same internship, and once again, came extremely close to getting it, but another applicant was deemed more qualified than me to fill the position. Even though that hurt, and honestly I am still recovering from the ding to my pride and plans for post-graduation because of that email in July, I do still plan to apply again for the internship (third time’s the charm, right?). But I’m also finally remembering all of the things I’ve been able to accomplish since the first time I got to be a part of the public media airwaves when I was 11 years old, and no matter how many times I’ll be turned down or deemed less qualified than another for a position, nobody can take away the things I’ve already accomplished. I’ll always be proud of the 30-minute documentary I produced this spring, that I got to cover Iceland Airwaves my sophomore year and be an Executive Producer for the documentary, the two years I spent with the Great Northern Radio Show as the Associate Producer/Stage Manager, and each of the deltas I support around my neck. And that’s what I need to remember as I sit down to start cover letters for other public media corporations around the country — and the one right in my backyard.

    IMG_5311
    Hosting On the River at Northern Community Radio

So yes, it was an incredibly busy end to my Junior year and summer, but as we move forward into the craziness I’m sure will ensue for Senior year… I’m so excited to get started and see what’s next. Here’s to semester 7! Stay with us.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

