March Check-In

WHERE DID THE TIME GO?? Seems like just last week I was scrambling to get the February reflection together, and now it’s the 31st of March… and time to look back on this past month. As I’ve reflecting on my resolutions and find myself in committees for the college, I wish I would have put more time and thought into my resolutions. It’s not too late to change them, I guess, but there might be some edits next month. Anyway, here’s what I’ve been missing out on telling you —

  1. Pay attention in class
    To be completely honest, this one could be defined as habit now. It’s rare that I spend time working on other things while in class, but that could also be because I’m hardly in class these days (ah, the perils of only having three in-person classes). And when I am in class, the teacher is so riveting or the topic matter is so important it’s hard to do anything besides type as fast as I can, trying to get it all down in a word document. So yes. Mission accomplished?

  2. Become too busy for social media
    I’m definitely too busy for social media, but I keep finding time (somehow) to be on it. Unfortunately, so many of the jobs/work I do requires me to be on social media. Which is okay, I guess, but I’m also easily distracted. Maybe I should refine this resolution/goal to be more focus-driven, but it’s still something I’m working on.

    IMG_3290
    Being too busy – quality time with Ireland friends
  3. Stop beating myself up
    Yup, still taking the mornings I need more sleep to get it, and finding time elsewhere to get runs in. I think it helps my mental state that my time/mile is improving, and I’m not necessarily training for any distance in particular. I think taking the spring off from racing and just focusing on preparing myself for drum corps has also helped, and having to train in different ways (mainly adding more strength training) is helping me feel okay about taking off days or cross-training days. I also finished physical therapy this month, so that was a huge confidence-booster, and since then, I’ve felt great (minus the random spurts of calf-cramping in the past week… definitely just need to drink more water).

    IMG_3328
    The last day of PT!
  4. “Me Time” everyday
    The evenings have become too me-time focused, especially Monday and Tuesday evenings. Monday/Tuesday are my longest, busiest days, and by the time I finally make it back to the apartment, I just want to eat and go to bed. I recently started learning Swedish and picking German back up using the Duolingo app, and I love doing that before bed… but it quickly takes up time, and I find myself staying up until 11pm or midnight on my phone. I could easily be doing homework in that time, which would result in having less stress throughout the day, and I need to start focusing on that instead of scrolling through Tumblr, just talking with friends, or now playing with Duolingo.

    I am happy to say that I did cross something off my me-time bucket list at the end of spring break! While I was in Dublin, I stumbled on a record that I’ve been searching for high and low in the US for a decent price, Chet Faker’s “Built on Glass,” and while I was abroad, I found it for a really good price. Anyway, that record is what I like to call a “vibey” album, and the first time I listened to it on Spotify, all I wanted to do was let the needle hit the groove and soak it in while sitting in a dark room by candlelight. And I finally did that with a woodwicker candle burning at my bedside. It was so incredibly relaxing, and I think I need to listen to more records that way. I highly recommend it.

  5. Take in more art
    As I mentioned before, I’ve started brushing back up on German, and I’ve started to learn Swedish. I think learning a language is an art form, and I’ve tried the classroom settings before (for both Spanish and German), but Duolingo has been pretty great so far. I feel confident in the little Swedish I have learned, and German is coming back much faster than I thought it would. Besides the languages, I’ve been listening to a lot of music. The commute and working in office settings allows me to do that. Over spring break, I rediscovered my love for musicals, and I found versions of so many musicals I’ve been dying to see on YouTube. This has resulted in a few too many runs being completed to the Legally Blonde soundtrack, and a different show tune stuck in my head every day. Now if only I could learn how to sing…

    IMG_3425
    Can we call the guac my mom and I made over Spring Break art? 

    This coming weekend marks the end of the winter guard season (staff selfie above), which means I’ll have more full weekends freed up for getting schoolwork done, long runs, and taking in shows. After connecting with one of my friends from the Ireland class earlier this year, we’ve found that we have almost the exact same taste in music. So hopefully, that means I’ll hear more about cheap, awesome shows around the city. And finally get a chance to hit up the Van Gough exhibit at the Art Institute! Hoo-ray for more free time?

    5a. Write more
    Besides the Kaleo review early this month, I don’t think I can even pretend on this one. I’ll discuss below:

    IMG_3151
    After the Kaleo show
  6. Become passionate again
    In February, I was able to travel down to Atlanta for a weekend to collect tape for my drum corps audio project. My biggest regret and the worst part of this month for me is that I haven’t been able to find a big enough window of time to do anything with it. I’ve started the script, and I have some things pieced together and ideas in the works, but I haven’t gotten anything put together enough to share with anyone. My plan for April is to work more on it, and have something put together by the next time I go down to Atlanta for camp. Please hold me accountable for it, and hopefully, I won’t have to write anything this self-disappointing next month. Man. What a letdown.

Anyway, besides the last chunk, I’d say that March was a pretty cool month. Incredibly busy, exciting, and went by way too fast. Stay with us.

IMG_3407
Shot with Sasha on Spring Break
Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

