A Weekend Off

There’s a lot of things going on in my life: school, SGA, running, CARA, drum corps, and teaching at Downers Grove South on the weekends. I absolutely love it, I definitely wouldn’t have it any other way, because I like being busy. But like everyone, it’s nice to have some downtime every once in awhile. I’ve had days off here and there, but it’s been about two months since I had two full days off in a row. Which is why I was so beyond over-the-moon when I was able to get this one off.

I’m not going to list out what I did and what I still need to do, because I although I have the time to do that, nobody really cares. I just want to hit on the absolute major highlights.

First, Friday night. My roommate from Ireland came over, we caught up, reminisced about the trip a bit, then met up with another friend from the trip, who was celebrating her birthday. There ended up being about four of us from the trip, but it was still so nice to catch up and spend time with these people who have become such an important part in my life in a short amount of time.

Saturday afternoon was number two: I got out for a really nice long run in the beautiful weather (pictured above). After a 14-miler, I got to spend an hour and a half doing absolutely nothing, and I found myself in the ultimate state of relaxation for me. Postrun, showered, wearing my XL sweatshirt, eating a turkey sandwich with dijon mustard, on the couch inside a freshly-cleaned apartment (yeah, I actually got to clean the apartment on Saturday morning), watching a TV show. That is my “least expensive” and “easiest to get to” happy place, and I hadn’t been able to be there since late November. Now it’s raining, so I won’t be able to get there today, but that’s probably for the best. I definitely still have a lot of stuff I need to get done, and I don’t think I can lose a huge chunk of time to another long run anyway. Plus… It would probably just be a bad idea in general to go for another really long run.

And highlight number three from Saturday was being able to celebrate one of my co-worker’s birthday. I also learned how amazing she is at cooking AND baking, since she and her roommates had made an entire spread of really good food. Two of the other e-board members were there, so it was nice to be in a more relaxed setting with some of the people I love working with on an almost daily basis. Plus, she had sweet tea, and it’s a guaranteed good time if sweet tea is involved.

IMG_3296.jpg
The runner inside of me took over… majority of that plate is obviously carbs.

I’m writing this early in the day on Sunday, so who knows what lies ahead… Actually, I do know. I’ve got lunch plans with some Spirit f<(m, then it’s errands, and the afternoon will be spent doing a group project, and other homework. Tonight, I’ll have the pleasure of joining another Spirit “fitness squad” Skype call to go over some data, and hopefully I’ll be in bed and asleep before 10:30pm.

So here we go. One more week to Spring Break, and even though I already feel so refreshed and recharged after these two days off, I’m ready for a more extended break and getting to see my dog. Stay with us.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

