ATL Weekend Getaway

I hate being in one place for an extended period of time. That’s one of the reasons I love drum corps so much: we’re constantly on the move and seeing different sights. That’s also the reason why I jump whenever I get the chance to go somewhere new. Although it’s comforting to be settled in a place for a bit; to have my running route and go-to places for food and other essentials, I can get a little stir-crazy.

So it probably won’t surprise those of you who have been around with us that after I found some mega-cheap round-trip flights from Chicago to Atlanta for the weekend of the February camp for Spirit of Atlanta, I made sure I could volunteer, and booked the flights immediately. (It came out of my budget plan for Europe, so I was good for the funding).

Not only did I get to escape Illinois, after being grounded for just under a month (I was recently in Europe?? Catch up on those adventures here), but it was a chance to see some of the people who mean the most to me, and an opportunity to start the biggest project I’ve ever embarked on: an audio documentary… or something along those lines.

First, the friends. The family I have at Spirit is so, so special. Any one of the people I marched with, especially in 2015, could give me a phone call or shoot me a text calling out for help and I’d respond in any way I possibly could. I can say that with so much confidence because I believe that they’d do the same for me, too. The hard part with these powerful friendships specifically is how far away I feel from everyone. Most of the corps lives in the southeast — meanwhile, I’m trying to finish my degree in Chicago.

It’s rare that I get to spend time with them during the offseason, so getting to see some of the corps for a short weekend in February was absolutely wonderful. I feel like I might make it to April now — and usually, I can make it to May after that.

Secondly, the audio doc. I’m in the process of changing my double-major into an interdisciplinary major (a blend between media management and radio), and one of the requirements is an independent project. I’ve also been wanting to make an audio documentary for the longest time, and I’ve wanted to incorporate drum corps into that to some extent, and the timing just seems right. I’m also really happy to say that I have an articulate, supporting, talented f<(mily, and it was wonderful to get to interview so many of them for this project. I’m really excited to see where this project takes me, and I hope you’ll stick around to see what happens with me.

IMG_2923
Hornline in visual block

Anyway, I got back on Monday morning, now it’s Wednesday afternoon and I still feel incredibly exhausted from the trip. Maybe I’m getting old, but I think I need a night of really solid sleep or something.

It’s almost time for a February check-in, so that should be…interesting. Stay with us.

IMG_2908
Sight for sore eyes
Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

2 thoughts on “ATL Weekend Getaway”

Leave a Reply

