Farewell, England [Ireland/London: Day 10]

Another day full of traveling and the last little bit of adventures in England before heading back to Dublin to finish up the story to round off my portfolio for the next big application. Woke up in Northampton, had my last crumpet for awhile, and bid farewell to Simi (who was heading back up to Liverpool later that day). It kind of hit that we had spent two solid days together, and now we didn’t know when the next time we’d see each other would be… it was like August all over again, but amplified.

IMG_2343
Should-be-sleeping selfie opportunity with Simi

IMG_2345
SUPER long overground

After getting back down to London, we hopped back on the Tube to visit Olympic park. There really wasn’t a whole lot to see, but it was a little surreal standing in the place that so many amazing athletes did so many incredible things. It definitely made me wish I could run again, but with this ankle still acting pretty finike, it’s questionable.

IMG_2352
Olympic Park

Back to the Tube, down to Victoria station, and hitting something else on my bucket list: sushi across the pond. We stopped at this place called Yo Sushi, where the sushi (and other food) is served to you on a conveyor belt, and you’re charged before you leave based on what you took. Not only was it served in a really cool way, but the food was actually pretty good. Since I hadn’t spent too much money on food that weekend, I didn’t feel too bad about spending probably a little bit too much on one meal that afternoon.

IMG_2359
Chicken rolls
IMG_2356
Conveyor Belt Sushi

The bus station to start the trip back to Stansted brought another good-bye, but it had been decided long before that I’d be trying to make another trip out to London. Even though we did a fairly good job of covering the touristy (and non-touristy) ground, there’s still so much that one needs to see and do in the city (and outside of the city!) that another trip is definitely in order.

IMG_2363
Sky appreciation en route to Stansted

I need to thank my hosts again, Orin and Simi, for doing the tourist stuff and letting me hang out with them for an entire weekend. I know it must not be the most fun to do every time, but I think we all had a good time… especially with Ben’s Cookies.

Taking this little solo-trip has probably been one of the highlights of this little study abroad session so far. Ireland has been amazing of course, but there’s something that I really enjoyed about London, and England in general, especially going outside of the city and experiencing a little bit of what it’s like to be in a village an hour outside of the city. It’s different than visiting the Chicago suburbs, but I still liked it.

The trip back to Dublin was fairly uneventful, and I’m actually being proactive and writing this blog post around 10pm instead of the next day. Some of my classmates and I are going out to catch up after the weekend tonight. I’m definitely excited to share some of my adventures, as well as hear about their experiences.

Here’s to some more memories before heading back to the states in a few days. As always… Stay with us.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

