DUB -> STN [Ireland/London: Day 7]

Ireland/London Day 7

Our day started at the offices of TheJournal.ie, and a talk with their editor, Christine Bohan. She dove into a lot of what Journalism means in Ireland, and tips to “make it” in the new world of reporting and writing. A lot of what she said correlated with things I’ve heard before in the United States, and even though I don’t want to go into Journalism directly (I mean it’s pretty cool, and I enjoy writing, but radio is pretty much the best), it was somehow comforting to hear that a lot of values translate over internationally. I’m not sure if I’d want to live across the pond, but I’ve found that I enjoy being somewhere that’s not America — and now that I’ve hit a decent amount of countries now… I feel like I’ve got a little more of a grasp on the world. By no means is it correct or accurate or even close to a full view, but for a 20-year-old that was raised in Northern Minnesota, I don’t think it’s half bad.

IMG_2201
Snapping in disbelief

And that view was expanded today, which is why this post is so short. The largest chunk of Friday was spent traveling to another place I’ve been dreaming to go to since middle school. Yes, I’m writing this post on Saturday morning from my friend’s kitchen table in London! Traveling internationally on my own for the first time was a bit nerve-wracking, but I probably couldn’t have picked an easier flight to deal with. I’m a little bummed I didn’t get another stamp in my passport, but I’m so excited to be with two of my f<(mily members from Spirit for the weekend, Orin and Simi.

IMG_2197
Even the construction looks cool?

I purchased a bus ticket to get from Stansted to downtown London, but when I landed and started to ask where I needed to go, I found out the service was no longer available. Luckily, another service was letting travelers who booked on that service a ride downtown, so I ended up hanging out at Kings Cross for awhile. Even just standing in that train stop was overwhelming with the whole “wow I’m finally here” feeling. We took the Underground back to Orin’s place, and spent the rest of the night talking about band, catching up, munching on “chips” and starting to plan out the ultra-mega-tourist day.

IMG_2202
Getting laundry done / Chips

I swear day eight will be longer, more interesting, and full of other goodies. It’s only 9am and I have more to write about than I do from today. Stay with us.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

