Here We Go… [Ireland: Day .20)

Pink line downtown, a few hours at work, blue line to O’Hare, and finally, ORD -> DUB. I still can’t believe that today is the day we’re leaving for Europe, and even though I’ve technically been there before, it feels like I’m going for the first time.

I can feel it in my bones how different of an experience this is going to be from Iceland. Not only because I won’t be running around trying desperately to figure out who my sources are / what the stories are going to look like, and trying to finish a blog post with thought-out reviews for bands I didn’t get enough time to listen to beforehand; but because I really don’t know anyone in this class. We’re also going for twice as long, and I’m visiting (technically) three different countries.

I’ve seen a lot of posts on Tumblr saying things like “this year I want to fill up the pages in my passport.” At the end of the year, I’ll be able to look back, smile, and say “Yeah, I did that.”

I registered for this class to immerse myself not only in a different culture, but in my professional passion. Lucky for me, I’m going to be able to do just that. Not only through my blog here, but through the story I’m working on. Being an avid runner, I’m hoping to get a piece of that to be present in my portfolio. We’ll see how that’ll end up working out, I guess.

As far as numbering days goes for this little blog, I’m counting this travel leg as day .2, since we didn’t do much, but I think it sunk in at the airport that we’re leaving the country together. I’m counting it because we started to follow each other on Instagram.

So far, I really enjoy talking to everyone in the class. We all come from such different professions and backgrounds, I think it’s going to make exploring this culture none of us have experienced before even more interesting. And a major bonding experience — it’s not often you leave the country with a group of near-strangers (in a controlled environment, at that).

Anyway, we’re about half an hour into this flight and we’re already over Canada. I feel like there’s so many things I need to get done before landing, but I’m going to try and fall asleep soon to help with the six-hour time change. Surprisingly, I’m not stay-up-all-night excited to be landing in Dublin in about seven hours. Maybe it’s because I know how rough this time change can be, and I want to enjoy every single second we have.

I’m also attributing my preparedness for this flight to drum corps, and the many overnight bus rides we endured (especially this summer), and going straight to block. After the flight we have two hours built-in to get our lives together, and that will be followed with a walking tour. Cake. Let’s go.

Stay with us!

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

