Giving Tuesday

Today is Giving Tuesday. Although I’ve never heard of it before, I have heard of “Give to the Max Day,” so I’m going to assume it’s something similar to that. Basically, it’s a day that you blow up social media with causes and charities you support, and you donate on that specific day. But I’ve got something to say (of course).

Even though the organizations I’ll be discussing today don’t really fall under the “charity” category, I’d like to talk about why it’s important to support them, and even though I’m living pretty close to paycheck to paycheck, I’ve got it in my budget for $15/month to contribute to three different public radio stations. ($5/month to each, totaling $60/year.)

The three stations are Minnesota Public Radio, WBEZ Chicago, and Northern Community Radio. I use them all for different things — Minnesota Public Radio, primarily The Current, is where I find music and how I start every weekday. I stay up-to-date on the happenings in the world, the country, and Minnesota specifically; and they used to carry my favorite program, Wits (which is currently on hiatus until further notice). WBEZ Chicago is the home to a host of other programming that I enjoy listening to, such as This American Life; Wait, Wait… Don’t Tell Me!; and Sound Opinions. Even though it’s rare for me to stream the station and listen to it live, I feel less guilty listening to these podcasts and programs because I’m supporting the big umbrella that they all have in common.

And last but most certainly not least, Northern Community Radio. NCR is more my home than anything, and by continuing my membership there (which I’m going on year 7 of being an individual member, originally supported through babysitting money), it’s the easiest way that I can say “thank you” for everything they’ve done for me. NCR helped me fall in love with public radio, and led me to everything I am and do today. Without the station that has a little program called “What’s For Breakfast?” who knows where I’d be now. I sure don’t.

So, I urge you to find a service or a community that you find yourself using on at least a semi-regular basis that always needs funding, and make a contribution today. Here’s a trick: if it’s a non-profit, they’re probably in need of donations. As the vlogbrothers say, the world is full of suck; but let’s work together to diminish it at least a little bit. Donate to a cause that makes you feel like you’re diminishing worldsuck.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

