Less Than 800 Words

Everything is moving so fast, and even though in the moment sometimes it sure doesn’t feel that way, I can’t believe that Halloween is just over a week away. I’m going to blame it on being in the suburbs every weekend for band the primary reason that I haven’t been able to update my corner of the internet with my ramblings and life very often this semester (even though that’s one of the best parts of this year so far). In reality, it’s just because I feel like if I wrote something, and did that every week, I’d be saying a lot of the same stuff. Don’t worry guys, I’m still running (half marathon #6 coming up in just over seven days), I’m working so many wonderful jobs (more on that in a minute), still trying to save as much as I can to make DCI 2016 happen, so ultimately, I can return to my family (gofundme.com/erikamarches2016). In addition to obviously doing my best to stay on top of all of my schoolwork (but we probably won’t be discussing that much). Here we go…hold on.

Let’s start off with: “I can’t believe I’m a Junior already?!” Sometimes it still feels like I’m new to the city and haven’t explored anything or really have my “places” to go, but that’s probably because I’m still hitting up the same things when I get the time to do so…but, to be honest, that doesn’t happen much. Anyway, the whole Junior thing hits me the most when I’m TA-ing one of the (what I like to call) Freshman crash-courses of Chicago. Basically, in the class I work with, we’re traveling to Chinatown (a neighborhood in Chicago) every week gathering interviews and sounds of the neighborhood, and we’ll spend most of the semester cutting the sounds together to tell a story about the place. It’s pretty neat, actually, and I’m really starting to enjoy working with the kids that I’ve been spending a couple hours every week with. I’ll give you more info on where to find the project as it actually starts to form, so stay tuned for that.

Another job I’ve been pretty busy with is being back with CARA (the Chicago Area Runners Association). I’m still doing Web & Marketing with them, but this fall was a lot of fun because I got to work the VIP Experience for the Chicago Marathon, and I got to play music through a $20,000 music system for their Ready to Run 20 Miler final training run. Seeing all of the runners cross the finish lines was absolutely inspiring, and deepened my desire to complete my own 26.2. For now, though, I need to be content with my half marathons.

Probably the newest bit of information that I haven’t talked about much is my newest job, working with the Downers Grove South Marching Mustangs (well, specifically, the color guard). I get to venture out to the ‘burbs every weekend and teach some twirls alongside a talented and knowledgeable staff that are starting to become some great friends. Not to mention the talent and hard work that these kids have shown through the past two months, even though I only see them once a week, has got me so excited to continue working with them throughout the winter; and hopefully, more than once a week.

My position on SGA is going well, too. As VP of Communications, I’m glad to say our Facebook has more traffic, the nametags of the senators include their prefered pronouns, and I hope everyone enjoys the updates to the website so far. Happy, happy days.

Alright, back to the Junior status thing. Being a Junior at Columbia means that you can start taking internships for school credit, and I’m in the midst of applying for one of the reasons I came to Chicago — the Wait, Wait… Don’t Tell Me! internship. One of the most competitive public radio internships in the city, I know I probably won’t be cut out for the position come this spring, but that’s okay. I still have two more opportunities to try for this opportunity, and I’m so excited and astounded of how far I’ve come. Looking back through my old projects to decide what I’m going to keep as my portfolio for the application is both daunting and thrilling. I’ve been so lucky to be part of some awesome projects, and I’m honored to include so many of my things from Northern Community Radio and the Iceland Doc from last year in it.

So, there you have it. A little life-update in under 800 words. Neat.

Stay with us.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

