Review, Preview… Here We Go

I suppose it’s about time I fill y’all in on what’s gone down this summer, what’s in store for the semester, and what the rest of 2015 looks like for me… Because it’s going to be over pretty quick here.

First off, I say y’all now. Yeah, that’s a thing that I do. Blame my Southern drum corps.

Secondly, Spirit of Atlanta came in 18th place at DCI Semifinals on August 8th. Although the placement isn’t exactly what we were gunning for, I think it’s safe to say that we all still had an incredible summer. I met some of the best friends of my life, I got so much better at color guard, and I discovered a lot about myself through the whole process. I learned that I can actually make some crazy drill moves with even crazier twirls. I picked up the habit of trying something three times before asking for help, deciding I don’t like it, or taking a deep breath. I re-fell in love with Sweet Tea, especially on show days, and I have yet to find a suitable place to get some in Chicago, unfortunately. I learned that it’s okay to indulge yourself at 2am after a buy stop, but only if you share with a friend. I found some music that plays with my heartstrings more than I’d like to admit (…thanks Jen Barton), how to hype things that you might not want to do… and how much easier it makes them.

But drum corps wasn’t the entire summer – oh, no – I had another month before the start of the semester. I spent about two weeks of it back in Minnesota being a little lazy and teaching band, then we finished moving into our new apartment in the Pilsen neighborhood of Chicago. I also got back into running before I even picked up a new pair of shoes (which I was in desperate need of after a summer marching around the country).

The two weeks I was back in Chicago before school started was a lot of getting things back in order. I applied for my first “real” loan, I figured out my semester schedule (which alone took about a week and a half), and most of all, I got caught back up on my new position on Student Government on the Executive Board as Vice President of Communications. I’m so, so excited what SGA has up our sleeve so far for the year for Columbia, and I’m ecstatic to be working with the other dedicated people that we have on E-Board this year. I’m sure you’ll hear more from me about it soon, but I don’t want to say much else until we have the Senate elected, at least.

I’m also happy to say that I’ve been re-hired at the Chicago Area Runners Association as the Web & Marketing Intern. It’s been really nice to be back in a familiar place as I’m getting used to the other new job, and it’s great to still be surrounded by other people who love running as much (if not, more) than I do. The only bummer? I kick myself almost every day I walk through the door for not working harder to make the Philadelphia Marathon happen this Fall, but I’m excited and happy to stick with half marathons for the rest of the year — my next one being on Halloween!

Another other on-campus job I’m holding is also pretty exciting, since I got to be a little piece of the conception of the idea of the class. Last year, SGA recommended to the administration of the college that they may want to revamp the First Year Seminar program. We thought it might be as simple as a name change, a survey of faculty, or just making the class be a little more focused…but they threw out almost the entire playbook, and I think, have really outdone themselves. I’m now one of four TAs from the Radio Department that’s assisting in an FYS-style class that’s called “Producing Chicago’s Neighborhoods,” and as time goes on, I’m sure I’ll be able to tell you more…but for now… just follow our hashtag on twitter #bigchisounds

Finally, the last little gig I’m holding down this semester is probably not-so-secretly one of my favorites, but on the weekends, I get to trip out to the suburbs and help teach color guard to the Downers Grove South high school band. I’ve only been able to get out once since I got back, but the staff is full of great people, the band seems to be hard working (and to be honest, the ‘guard is pretty talented already), and I’m so so so honored to be included in this team. Again, I’m sure I’ll get a couple stories out of it, and I’m sure you’ll hear about it should you chose to stick on with us.

As far as classes go, I’ve only had two in the first week. I’m enrolled for 15 credit hours, and 3 of them are taking place through an online course. My schedule is completely different than it’s ever been before, so that should make for some interesting things. Another big change is the fact that I’m commuting this year, and that my bike has already been stolen. Three days in, and it seems like it’s going to be okay. Maybe ask me how I’m holding up in a couple weeks, though.

No major trips planned for the semester, but I do have my plane ticket booked to get down to Atlanta for New Years Eve. If nothing else gets me through the semester…at least I’ve got that. And a lot of really great, new vinyl records.

Here’s to year three, semester 5! Stay with us.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

