This is the End

Maybe I’m lucky, maybe it’s normal, but somehow I got paired with two of the greatest people I’ve had the pleasure of meeting so far in my college experience (which is now half over?! Where has this time been going?!) my freshman year here.

Before we’re assigned housing, we had to fill out this application on our lifestyle, and apparently, Sam, Jessie, and I filled it out similarly enough to share a suite/bathroom last year. Something I never really thought would happen is becoming so incredibly close with my roommates. I mean, I knew it was a thing, but I never gave it much more thought than that.

Boy, I’ve never been more wrong in my life.

I don’t remember our first interaction, besides how awkward it was, but some moments in our first semester stand out as “bonding.” Telling and bringing Sam and Jessie to Mariano’s for the dollar-gelato, making friends with the guys that lived across the yard, eating Panera and complaining about the campus meal plan, and not really saying a “proper” good-bye at the end of the first semester. And a lot of movie-watching. Oh, and of course, dealing with all of our other crazy roommates Freshman year.

That changed a little bit in the Spring. Meaning, a lot more stuff stands out. Eventually, we decided that the first round went well enough that we were going to do this whole “roomie” thing again the following year (now), and that we wanted to visit Sam in her homeland (Michigan) in August.

I can’t pin down exactly when it happened, but these two girls became my best friends in Chicago so suddenly and so fast, that I honestly have no clue where I’d be without them now. So first off, thanks guys, for that.

Everything about our little slice of 7th floor heaven is about to change, though. And even though it’s going to be hard, it’s for the best. Sam (Film major) got accepted into NYU, and will officially be moving out of Chicago on Sunday.

I’m so so incredibly excited for her to go on this new exciting adventure and to live in the city she’s dreamed of living in and talked about living in literally since what feels like the day I met her. Seriously, this is an amazing thing (because NYU is pretty competitive…y’know), and I can’t wait to watch her on TV at the Academy Awards one day and send her angry messages as to why she’s not setting us up to party with Jonah Hill.

But yeah, we’re going to miss her. She’s talked me through problems countless times, gone out to eat for no reason other than to leave the apartment, listened and traveled through my running rambles, been super supportive, her dishes are never in the sink more than 24 hours, and she cleans the bathroom when the schedule deems her to do so. Sam’s been a pretty cool roommate, and we’re going to miss her (we already are in the apartment hunt).

So thanks for an awesome two years so far, Sam. I hope you’re ready for midnight facetimes and a hell of a lot of iMessages. *insert a joke here* *leaves for Salt Lake City*

165408_861662873844259_542198249047185351_n

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, currently residing in Chicago. Digital Marketer, sometimes-writer (mostly on yelp), and music connoisseur. Painfully average ultramarathoner.

Leave a comment