I Go To Art School… And I Was Doing It Wrong

I made the choice to come to Columbia because I wanted to be immersed in a school where I could focus on radio. Learning radio. Getting better at radio. Eat, sleep, breathe, create great radio. I figured there’d be a lot of steps along the way; going out and exploring the city, trying new things, eating new foods, seeing shows of all sorts, etc. I had expectations of what my life at Columbia would be like.

As I’m sure you’ve figured out, I’m in a Reviewing the Arts: Honors class this semester. Our teacher usually starts the once-a-week Monday morning class with one question: “Who absorbed some good art this weekend?”

The first time he asked this, I was caught off guard. What did I do this weekend? Right, I had just finished working all week, didn’t get much done, and spent the better part of the weekend holed up in my apartment getting all of my schoolwork done. I probably went for a run or two. Got the grocery shopping done for the week, meal prep. Pretty sure it was my weekend to clean the apartment, probably? Basic human things.

One problem. I wasn’t living up to the expectations that I had put on myself when I moved here over a year ago, or when I moved back about six months prior. I spent too much of the weekend holed up, doing absolutely nothing that I had dreamed of doing.

Ever since then, I’ve made it a mission to do — er, excuse me, absorb — at least one thing every weekend that I offer to say in class come Monday morning. Since then, I’ve listened to a handful of new Broadway musicals on Spotify; taking in more Netflix-documentaries and trying to expand on my movie knowledge; checked out “Whiplash” in theaters; worked for a weekend on the Great Northern Radio Show set, where we had some really talented musicians that I’m still listening to; ate at some pretty spectacular restaurants, (okay… two restaurants…), and saw The Book of Mormon this past weekend.

I can’t explain enough how wonderful it is to have taken in these things, and I look forward to being able to absorb even more as time goes on. Plus, it’s kind of nice to get out of your own head for a little bit during the bustling, busy weekends. (Yes. Weekends are busy, too. You try working full time and taking 19 credits.)

Just thought I’d drop a couple lines to let y’all know I’m still here. I’m still kicking. Almost. I’ve made it through my 4th Half Marathon (go Get Lucky!), and I’m still eagerly awaiting move-ins/spring training for Spirit, and I could really use anything you could donate to my tour fees. Find out more here.

Stay with us, if you can.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

