Hard Work Pays Off (and so many many thanks)

By the end of the week, I’m usually pretty spent. I’ve got a pretty hectic schedule, and when I’m running on a string of days with about four-five hours of sleep each night, I ask myself if it’s really worth it. Then I spend a half-hour every night scrolling through running-related things on Pinterest.

I’ve been a lot more careful this semester. I’m more aware of my “free” time and how I spend it. I’ve been watching my running; how many miles I’m logging, how I feel the morning after speedwork or a distance run, and days surrounding physical therapy in the past couple weeks. I’m working hard to follow my budget with meal planning, when I’ll make purchases that aren’t complete necessities (but will be sometime soon, such as a pair of day-to-day shoes that work my orthotics that aren’t running shoes.) I’m trying to eat better food, even though I am on a budget. But this isn’t a “look how good I’m being” blog post. Because something important happened today.

It’s the end of the month, which means that not only will I need to make another payment to Spirit soon, but I need to pay off my credit card for last month’s payment. In the original drum corps budget that my dad created, he thought I’d have to take some money out of my funding for my Junior year of college in order to keep up with my tour payments, and I thought it would be around this time that I’d have to do that.

But, I logged on to my account today to deposit two paychecks from my internship, and I was blown away to see that not only would I have enough to pay off my credit card, but I have about half of what I need to make my March payment already, too. And that’s before the two paychecks get processed.

I’m still a long way off from where I need and hope to end up come May, but I am so incredibly grateful to have two paying jobs that I continue to learn from, enjoy, and help me further my career every hour I spend at them. I’m forever thankful for those who have given me some of their own hard-earned money, not only for helping me fiscally attain my dreams, but will give me mental and emotional support throughout the summer. (I write all of the names of people who donate/share my campaign in my tour journal, and I look at the overwhelmingly long list on the especially hard days of spring training/tour, and it never fails to put a smile on my face… as cheesy as it sounds.)

So thank you so much to all of those who have donated to my tour fees. This is not going to be the last time you hear about it, if you come back to my blog for whatever reason, but it’s moments like these that I’m so, so thankful to be where I am. Thanks to my parents, for supporting and sending me food; thank you employers, for taking a chance and hiring me; thanks to my roommates, (who have been rolling out my IT band every night the past week and a half,) for listening to be complain and celebrate and babble on and on for far too long; thank you to my friends who also listen to be ramble about “summer band” and “yeah I’ll be on tour this summer;” thanks again to all of my fiscal supporters; and I can’t forget my biggest physical supporters, KT Tape and NovaCare. Mostly KT Tape. (You’re holding me together, buddy.)

It’s also given me the drive to get started on this massive amount of homework I’ve got, too. So here’s to that.

Stay with us. Or join the club, and donate to my tour fees? 🙂

http://www.gofundme.com/erikamarches2015

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

