Green Hair’s Back! (But I’m Not Quite)

Three weeks out from my fourth half marathon, and I’m still struggling with injury/physical therapy… but I’m in the process of getting the green streak back in my hair, just like last year! It’s been a ride of a week.

I had a great 10 miler on Tuesday. A little bit of soreness, but I also haven’t ran that well since the last time I did speedwork (which was about four weeks ago… almost a month.) The day after, I had my first physical therapy appointment. I was diagnosed with runner’s knee/patellafemoral pain syndrome last week, and even though they’ve cleared me to run when my knee’s taped, I still have to be extremely careful about what I do and when I do it.

So, first day of PT, I was crazy crazy CRAZY sore and wiped for the rest of the day. I took it easy Thursday (gym workout and PT) because I was still pretty sore from getting my IT band thoroughly rolled out for the first time on Wednesday. So, essentially, two days off from running.

Here’s the kicker: I set out for a quick 5 miles before having to get on the train at 7:30 for work…barely made it two miles before I had to call a cab to take me home. I had a searing pain in my Achilles tendon area, my outer hips and inner thighs were throbbing pretty good too, but nothing compared to the left heel/ankle area.

That’s the first time I’ve ever had to “call for help” to get home because I could not continue on. It’s heartbreaking, mentally tolling, and very discouraging. Especially so early on in an already short run.

Made better with a great 10 miler on Saturday, a difficult 6 on Sunday, a sore rest day on Monday, and another decent 8 today, I’d say I’m bouncing back. But that doesn’t mean PT is getting any easier.

I forgot how not only physically taxing it is, but how difficult it can be mentally and emotionally. I thought I was in pretty decent shape before I got injured, but now that I’m in physical therapy trying to work these muscles that I never really have before out, so they can get stronger, I’m struggling just to get through the assigned exercises. It hurts the pride I’ve started to acquire since finishing my first half last year.

In other news, the green streak is BACK! It’s kind of fun having this green hair back, but I forgot how much of a pain it is to keep re-dying it every couple days, or seeing green water in the shower. Whoops.

I do know that I’m getting better. They are getting easier. So hopefully, the worst is behind me. Another day of PT today, and don’t let me forget to ask about the pain I’ve been having oh… everywhere.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

