RRW Day Two: Sleep

We’re on the second day of the running rest week – most of my rest periods have been two days, so this felt relatively normal. It’s the next five days that are going to suck – even more than they have so far.

But today was actually pretty productive. I got to spin for awhile, did all my PT exercises, finally got copies of the two econ chapters I need to finish reading by tomorrow from the library, lots of homework and spotify, then I made turkey meatloaf for dinner (and I’ve got plenty of leftovers.) More homework now as the laundry is going, and the rice is soaking. Yay meal prep!

I’ve found over the past couple weeks that I actually really enjoy cooking. I love eating a lot of really good food – I don’t feel as guilty when I’m stuffed, because at least it has some nutritional value?

I also have found that I love hummus. I’ve been eating it like it’s going out of style with pita chips – and I should probably stop, since it’ s a lot of empty calories, and I don’t really need those in my life this week.

A weird realization: I slept until 10 today. This hasn’t happened in what seems like a long time, because usually, I need to go for a long run on Sundays, so I wake up at 8-ish to try and be on the road before 10. Even though I spent more time sleeping, I was right on schedule as if I had gone for my long run (post-indoor workout, that is.) It was kind of weird to get hit with a dose of how much more I could probably fit into my weekend life if I didn’t spend so much time on the trail – but as I walked to the library and back, I found that I missed spending two hours on the trail.

This is probably the first time in my life that I can’t wait for Valentine’s day. My Valentine this year is running – and I can’t wait to spend some quality time with it on Saturday.

Setting up a doctor’s appointment for hopefully Tuesday… I can’t take much more of this not-running-slash-taking-it-easy thing.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

