RRW Day One: Coming to Terms

Day one of the ‘running rest week,’ and newsflash, I’m already so ready to hit the trail again… until I sit for a little too long, and my knee starts to hurt like crazy all over again. I know it’s good for me, and I know I need to not run, but man… the mental strain is already starting to take a toll on me.

What I’m looking forward to is meal prep. I have all of my meals planned for the next week, and I’m excited for another week of delicious, healthy eats. Knowing that I’m eating better is helping me stay physically ready for the race, and it’s helping me cope with not being able to do a long workout.

Today, I planned on doing laps at the Y downtown as my cardio-sustaining workout (I was scheduled for a 12 mile run, but…well.) Turns out, there’s not a real YMCA in downtown Chicago, but there is a corporate office. So that’s nice. Except they don’t have a pool. So I cycled for an hour, and finished off with Physical Therapy and some stretches that felt great on the hammies.

It’s going to take some creativity, but I’m determined to make the best of this situation. Maybe I can catch up on some sleep, get some quality spinning time in, or actually get into my Pinterest board for “when it’s too cold to run.”

Kind words or some suggestion for an already stir-crazy long distance runner forced into some rest time would be greatly appreciated. Stay with us, (if you can bear it.)

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

