7-Day [not] Running Challenge

In my post yesterday, I rambled for quite a while about running. Basically, I like to run a lot. I’ve been watching a lot of running documentaries as of late, and they’re all super inspiring…but I’ve also had some knee problems the past week and a half-ish. I work for the Chicago Area Runners Association now, and I went for a short run this morning (just six miles – a very easy/short run, compared to my 8-10 mile average,) I got back to my apartment feeling pretty good. Until about 45 minutes after returning, the searing pain in my knee came back, and I found that I couldn’t even stand up without crying out in pain. I was worried I’d wake up my roommates! So I took more pain killers, manned up, and made it to work. During some downtime this morning, I started talking to the training manager about my issues, and both she and my boss sent me to NovaCare, the rehab/physical therapy clinic that partners with CARA, and have a location just down the street.

My thoughts were confirmed – I do indeed have the common patella femoral pain syndrome – and I was told I’m not allowed to run until I can walk without limping for a day. I also have to hit up a doctor next week so I can make sure there’s nothing else going on in there. Probably a good idea, but that means I won’t be able to run for quite awhile. And that’s no good, because I have my fourth half marathon coming up, and how badly I want to PR has been tearing me apart with the urge to train the right way since I registered.

So I’ve come up with a plan. No matter what happens with this doctor, I’m going to take SEVEN days off from running. That doesn’t mean I’m not going to exercise, (are you CrAzY?) But I am going to eat the best and smartest I can, and figure out some good ways to get my cardio in, while doing the physical therapy that I know will help me rehabilitate and get back on the trail soon.

But since I’m terrible at taking time off, (I absolutely hate rest days, I only had a few in the past four races I’ve trained for,) I decided to utilize my blog once again for a running-related thing. I’m going to [try] and post every day of this ‘running cleanse,’ just to be sure I’m staying true to the necessary time I need to recover, and help me put my best feet/knees/hips/self forward on race day. Expect to see meals I eat, hear about the training techniques I’m trying, maybe the documentaries I’ve watched through this gym time/music I’m listening to, and probably some other general ramblings and frustrations that are going to come with not running for seven mornings.

Stay with us?

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

