Semester Four, Employment, and Drum Corps!

On the most recent episode of Wits, Rhett Miller does a cover of “Changes”, and maybe it’s because I just listened to it this morning, or maybe it actually is fitting, but all I can think to start this post off with is mediocre blog-singing of “ch-ch-ch-ch-changessssssss”!

A LOT of things are different since my last post here. I’ve had two new jobs, break ended, the semester started, (my fourth at Columbia already… where is the time going?) I’m training for my fourth half marathon, and more.

First off, the employment situation. Remember about a month ago when I went to Iowa to audition for drum corps? Well, drum corps and school are both two very expensive ways to fill up your time, and being a runner with some specific dietary needs isn’t exactly cheap, either. I’ve been working in the radio department for 20 hours a week, but that isn’t really enough to pay the bills, so I started working for Computer Enterprises again as the Social Media Consultant. Since that’s not really the type of job where it’s easy to get another 20 hours a week, I started pounding the pavement in Chicago to find another job. I ended up at Dunkin Donuts after a really short hiring process. Turns out that the hiring process would mirror my employment with them. After my second day, I got an email from the Chicago Area Runners Association – they were offering me the Web & Marketing Internship again… but this time, I’d be paid. Of course I accepted! Two weeks later, and I’m learning a lot about web design and the organization, and hopefully a little bit about the community this weekend!

Break ended, which means the semester has started. I’m overloading on classes this semester – trust me, I already know I’m probably going to regret that. But, I’m finally starting my Media Management degree with Intro to Management and Managerial Economics; I’m taking another Honors class (as you probably gathered from my previous post,) Reviewing the Arts; knocking out some LAS core classes with Crime Lab Chemistry and Theories of Personality; and taking an online class about Music Literacy and Theory. Classes are going to be busy and time-consuming, but I think I’m going to learn a lot this semester. I’m excited, for now.

Training for my fourth half marathon. Nothing too special, but you’ll probably be hearing more about that eventually sometime soon.

Now for the biggest news. Remember that drum corps thing? I sent in a video audition to Spirit of Atlanta Drum and Bugle Corps in Georgia over break, and this week, I finally received the email of my status with the corps. I’m a contracted member for the 2015 Color Guard at this point in time! I’ll fly down in April to get my placement, and then move in come May! I’m beyond excited to spend my second year with my f<(mily, and I’m so happy to know where I’ll be this summer.

And pitch time. Even though I’m working four jobs this semester, I’m going to be cutting it really close with my payments. If you think you might be able to help me raise some funds, please visit this website. Everything is explained there.

So here we go, guys. Year two on this blog has officially begun. Semester four is well under way, and I’m so excited for what’s to come. Hope you are too. Stay with us.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

