My Sleeves Froze at the Finish

I live in Chicago, and it’s been pretty cold the past week. So cold that the Chicago Area Runners Association canceled their Boston training long run on Saturday morning, but not cold enough for Team Ortho to cancel their Polar Dash races – which was good for me, or else I would have been out of a week of tapering and $65. AND the hype I had built up over about two and a half months for my longest race thus far of 15 miles.

At the start, the thermometer temp was reading 0, and according to WeatherBug it ‘felt like -25.’ So yeah, it was a little cold, especially with the wind that comes with the Windy City. But honestly, it didn’t feel that bad until about mile 9, when I rolled the sleeves of my sweatshirt down and they froze in an instant. I’ve never really had anything like that happen, since the temps in Chicago haven’t been that bad until the week of the race of course.

But it actually ended up being a pretty good learning experience. I figured out I need to do more long runs before the race, and if I had been able to do a proper taper, I would have probably been in a better headspace going into the race. I had my first mid-race bathroom breaks, and I ran the most I’ve ever ran a race. Even though my time wasn’t what I was hoping, I’m still proud I finished and that I set out to run that day at all. It was a learning experience, as have been all of the races I’ve done so far.

Registered for my next half – the race that started it all – Get Lucky (Chicago) in March. Excited to train hard and hopefully set a new PR for the Spring. Oh, and did I mention how badly I want to do the Chicago Marathon this year? That’s a goal. That’s something I’m really actually considering at least, which is mind-boggling.

This year, I’m starting to take running more seriously. Maybe it’s because I’ve considered myself a ‘real’ distance runner for almost a year, or the marathon goal, or the fact that I’m now working at the Chicago Area Runner’s Association, regardless, I’ve bought some books on strength training and I’m setting out to become a better runner. It should be interesting, hopefully.

Anyway, Classes start in about a week and a half, I’m currently working, like, four part-time jobs, I’m finding some great music on Spotify, and there’s some shows coming up that I can’t wait to tell you about. 2015 is starting to shape up to be both a personal-growth year and (hopefully) a career-growth year. Stay with us.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

