Audition Jitters

Holy crap, it’s finally the week… Where did the time go? Shouldn’t I feel more prepared??

I’ve been in this place before. The place of pre-audition/camp jitters. It’s the week I’ve been looking forward to for over a year; the week where I audition for another world class drum and bugle corps’ color guard. I head to Dubuque, Iowa on Friday afternoon to see if I’m still skilled enough to partake in an activity that has changed my life so much already; to see if I can be blessed with the opportunity to travel with a bunch of band geeks who love performing and working hard just as much as I do. To see if I can make my dreams come true…again.

It’s not really easier this time, because I haven’t had the opportunity to spin my butt off every single day like I did in 2012/13, but it also is… because I have more people I can lean on for support, tips, and encouragement. I’ve also been through the process before. I know what to expect, and that’s more of an edge than I had last time, anyway.

But I want to focus this short post on something else. Definitely my favorite part of the activity: the people. There’s a reason I’ve scraped together the funds to get down to Tennessee for New Years Eve the past two years now, and it’s not just to escape the Chicago winter for a few days. Drum corps people are my favorite people. I go months without being able to talk to most of these people, and yet, when I talk to them, it’s as if no time has passed. Sure, we catch up on the happenings of life that are significant, and we’ll complain about our other band-related troubles followed immediately by comforting or laughs of understanding. It’s a crazy magical force that connects us, and it’s such an honor to be part of that with so many people.

As I’m left facing a week that’s sure to be more full of stress than finals even, I’m trying to focus on the people aspect. I’m not sure what I did to deserve so many crazy, caring, wonderful people in my life, but I’m glad I did. Here’s to getting better, being mentally ready, and putting my best foot forward in Iowa this weekend…and hopefully joining another family in their quest for greatness.

Can you feel the music?

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

1 thought on “Audition Jitters”

Leave a Reply

