I’m Back + It’s Cold + Procrastination

Finally free of jet-lag, pretty much unpacked, and I’ve gotten the chance to listen through the three vinyls I purchased while in Reykjavík a couple times through. I think it’s safe to say I’m back in the U S of A, and pretty settled back into the swing of things. The trip to Iceland was incredible – definitely something I’m going to remember for a very long time (…remember is a funny word…), and I’m looking forward to going back already.

This is obviously a shorter blog post, but I really don’t have much time to get into everything I want to update with; so here’s the quick and dirty version of everything.

I registered for my first longer-than-a-half-marathon race (15 miler) Polar Dash in Chicago this coming January. Super excited for this challenge of a winter race, not so excited about the frostbite I’m sure is going to ensue. I tried to get up and force myself outside this morning, but I took to the gym and opted for two hours on the elliptical instead. No wussying out tomorrow: back to the trail I go.

Another fun fact: I’ve filled out four job applications in the past 48 hours, and I’m both nervous and excited to see where they go. I’m also in the middle of two more applications (both pending cover letters, of course,) so we’ll see what happens. I won’t say anything because I don’t want to jinx anything, but possibly, a new part-time job is afoot.

Since I’ve been back, I think I’ve fallen in love with food. I absolutely love making food for myself, and then eating it. I’ve spent so much money on groceries since coming home, it’s really bad, and it’s showing. I guess I either need to figure it out or pick up this winter running mileage.

Anyway, that’s pretty much it. Looking forward to spending some quality time with a lot of friends this weekend, most of those friends I haven’t had the chance to see since last year. I’ll write more when I get a little more time (and motivation.) Stay with us?

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

