Results and Ketchup

I know you all have probably been dying to know how Brewer’s Mini Marathon went about two weeks ago, and I sincerely hope nobody lost any sleep over this, but it was… rough. It was pretty bad. And that’s why I haven’t written about it yet. That, and it’s been super crazy busy… more on that later.

Brewer’s started out strong – after some minor setbacks in Milwaukee (not really sleeping much the night before, getting screwed a little bit by a cab driver… I could go on, but I’m not going to.) I was so ready to tune it all out for about two hours and just spend some quality time with my running shoes and my thoughts. The gun went off, and out I went. Everything was fine… until after mile nine.

At Grandma’s, it was mile seven that was the longest mile. Get Lucky was mile six. So I’m happy with the fact that I got to mile nine before things went awry, but on the flip side of that, I also can’t help but tell myself “wow, you got all the way to mile nine, just five left to go, and things went south. That’s so close, still so far, but so close…and didn’t quite make it.” But things went south really fast at nine, much faster than they did at either of the other races. I found myself victim to a side stitch, something that hasn’t ever been a problem for me before. Along with the side stitch came a crazy weird cramping, too, which happened when I first started running, but hadn’t been a problem leading up to the race. Maybe it was the weird things going on in my stomach/diaphragm, maybe it was the random stuff going on leading up to the run in Milwaukee, and maybe it was simply because I was freaked out about the buttery/cheesey/chicken-y pasta I had the night before. Either way, the last five miles were the longest I’ve ever ran — and that’s including the five today that seemed to crawl by.

Ever since this race now, I’ve had so many problems running. I got new shoes, and it seemed to take a little longer to break in. Of course, now that they’re broken in, I’m finishing the battle with a cold… so obviously, the last couple weeks of nicer fall running weather are not in my favor at the moment. Looks like I’m stuck with either sitting out or only going halfway for awhile. *deep sigh*

Anyway, the other reason I haven’t been such an avid blogger recently is the start of school. And even though I normally would have settled into my groove by now, and I usually have figured out when to do my homework and when I can slack off a little, but this semester is an entirely new beast. Last semester, my honors class was so incredibly time consuming and crazy busy, but that hasn’t really happened quite yet. Mostly because I’m in a class where we’re going to go to ICELAND for a week and cover a music festival, and a LOT of prep goes into that (and making an audio doc,) but it’s going to make for some crazy cool stories and some pretty sweet blog posts. So bear with me.

I’m learning a lot about time management once again, though. I’m glad I did that honors class last semester; it definitely was a good preface to all I’ve got to do for this class. (Seriously, I’m looking at my academic to-do list, and of the eight things on it, six of them are for my Iceland class.)

So that’s basically where I’m at. Just treading the water that is fall semester of my sophomore year of college. Not sure how much I’ll be able to upkeep this blog, it might just be reblogging of everything for Iceland, but please definitely stay tuned. I’ll have so many cool and actual good thorough researched stories.

Stay with us. Please, please do.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

