What Have You Been Doing This Summer? Part 3: MBI (Summer Band)

(Pre-claimer: drum corps is like professional marching band. There’s DCI, also known as “junior corps” since only 14-22 year-olds can march, and DCA, which is all-age corps.)

My summer was pretty set in stone and busy before I got done with school last semester, but one thing that was missing was performing. I was okay with that, because I knew I’d be teaching. I’d still be able to improve on my own, I thought, but by the time July rolled around, I was starting to question if I’d be able to have time and motivation to kick myself into gear.

Then something wonderful happened. One of the caption heads for Minnesota Brass Drum & Bugle Corps (a DCA group from St. Paul, MN,) contacted me and asked if I could fill a hole for them. After less than 24 hours of consideration, I told her that yes, of course I’d love to march with them.

I started the last weekend in July. I learned three movements of drill and work in two-ish days. Probably two of the most stressful days in my marching career so far, but it was completely worth it by the next weekend I joined Brass, because I got to perform. I got to take the field with an awesome group of people I hadn’t known for very long, but already felt very much a part of.

Fast-forward a couple more weeks, and we were on a bus from Oakdale, MN to Rochester, NY. A twenty hour bus ride, and I was scheduled to move in to my new apartment the second we passed through Chicago on the way back. To say I was a little stressed is an understatement, but it was definitely one of the most rewarding parts of my summer.

But why? I hardly spent two months with these people. I barely knew them. They barely knew me.

That’s the magic of drum corps.

People who do drum corps/marching band are peopel who are unlike anyone else. We all understand working as a team. We all understand that every body is important. We all like to work hard and improve our craft to hopefully help the judges understand our concept. Help them understand what we’re going for. And strive for perfection.

During finals retreat, we (MBI) got to stand almost in the middle of the field as a corps, among some of the other great performers in the activity. It was an experience unlike anything else, and I’m so grateful I got to be a part of the 2014 program Supernova.

After retreat, I even got to see some of the people I spent my entire 2013 summer with at Spirit of Atlanta, and it felt so good to see more people who mean so much to me.

I feel like this is a post that probably won’t make much sense to anyone, but I can’t even put in to words how much it meant to me to be able to perform this summer. The one thing I thought I wouldn’t get to do, and that’s how I got to end it all with this year.

I can’t help but feel nostalgic for the past month and a half (especially with school starting) whenever I think of the corps song. Which has been happening a lot, since I’ve been looking at so many pictures from Finals night…

For all we know, we may never meet again
Before you go make this moment sweet again
We won’t say goodnight until the last minute
I’ll hold out my hand, and my heart will be in it

For all we know, this may only be a dream
We come and we go like the ripples of a stream
So love me tonight, tomorrow was made for some
Tomorrow may never come
For All We Know

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

