It’s Too Long For A Tweet

Sometimes, I think I like running a little too much for my own good.

Right now, I’m in the Rochester, NY area to do some band for the rest of the summer with a bunch of people I don’t know very well. Now, usually, I would spend my time socializing and getting to know all of these people… but for some reason, right now, all I want to do is spin and train for my next half marathon and wath Grey’s Anatomy. Call me crazy, but I just want a pinch of down time.

Training for the half makes sense to me. It’s coming up so fast (it’s already only about three weeks away?!) and it’s been a couple weeks since I’ve ran more than eight miles – and that one eight-miler wasn’t exactly the easiest of runs. I have been super busy, and my diet hasn’t exactly been ideal, but there’s no more time for excuses from me: I need to train. Now.

The other side of this (i.e., wanting to be alone and have some down time,) is probably because I know about the s*it storm about to start in my life. At this time next week, I’ll be amist homework, quizzes, networking, and working too much. Yep, school starts on Tuesday. And although I’m excited to be back in the city and with my friends and coworkers, I’m also more nervous for this year. I’ve got expectations to live up to this time. I’m the senator for the radio department. I’m not new to the workforce, and I can’t claim “but I’m only a freshman” when things start going haywire. (Geez, I’m getting exhausted just thinking about it.) So sue me for wanting to just take some time to breath and relax before the semester starts, I sure haven’t taken a breath all summer, so I should be able to get one now…right?

And spinning. God, I’m going to miss spinning. If last year was any indicator of how my year is going to look spin-wise, then it’s going to be a very interesting audition season. Fingers crossed that I can actually get a space to spin – I’ll keep you posted on that.

Well, rehearsal day tomorrow, and I’m too tired and not feeling social enough to try and make friends tonight, so I’m just going to maybe go to sleep. I mostly just had too much to say to tweet it, so I wrote this little post.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

