Regaining that Love

I love a lot of things. I love running and biking and spending time exercising. I love color guard – twirling, writing, spinning, performing, teaching – everything about it. I love radio and talking about variety shows and the type of people who like the same medium. I love music; shopping for records, buying records, finding new artists, talking to artists, and enjoying quality jams.

Amidst all those things, sometimes I forget how much I love each and every one of them. I forget the joy and rush I get from every single one.

This past week or so, I’ve been extremely lucky that I’ve been able to remind myself of how much joy it brings me for all of them. I got to teach twirly twirly flag band to an awesome group of high schoolers, and I got to get better myself by spending the weekend with Minnesota Brass Drum & Bugle Corps. I’ve been able to spend my afternoons doing radio and learning just a little bit more about the medium I love. Jack White’s Lazaretto came in the mail on vinyl, and last night I got to spend some quality time learning about all of the tricks and treats on it. I’ve been on a run or a bike ride or some type of exercise every day, as per usual, but it’s been more pleasant this week than it has been recently (darn you, summer humidity.)

The two moments that I realized just how much I love the things are the Saturday evening after my first real rehearsal with Minnesota Brass. I climbed into my car, a bit more sore than when I started the day, and a lot more sun-kissed, and I almost started to cry. It felt so, so good to have a show that I knew I’d get to perform within the next couple weeks, and it was amazing to have the experience of learning a ton of things in such a short amount of time. Stressful, yeah, but it was still wonderful. The best feeling I’ve had all summer.

The second? Messing with Jack White’s Lazaretto last night. There’s just so many cool things about that record that just makes me want to listen to it and play with it forever and ever. Being able to listen to records is something I haven’t had near enough time to do this summer, but every opportunity I’ve had has been such a wonderful thing I’m so happy I’ve had the chance to do. And tomorrow, I host a three hour music show, and I’m planning on spinning a bunch of my favorite vinyl for the first time ever on the air.

Besides that, I’m just really excited about all the stuff coming up. I get to go back to Chicago in a week, I get to see my room mates soon, and I get to go to the Boundary Waters with three of my best friends from high school. Scattered around that, some Minnesota Brass rehearsals and a trip out to Rochester, NY, then it’s back to school! It’s going to be a great month… and it’s going to be fast. Here we go!

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

