Band Camp | Moving Out & Moving On

For the first time in a long time, I wasn’t completely drained or fully booked today, so I took advantage of that and decided to be productive. I started to pack back up to move back to Chicago in just over a month. I’ve said it before, and I’m going to say it again: I can’t believe how fast this summer has gone. My theory was proven right once again – keeping busy on the weekends makes the time fly by.

I should have been asleep long ago, but procrastination and packing have made it so that I’m sitting here at midnight typing up the post I was hoping to have completed before 10pm. Oh well, I’m doing it now, and it’s fine. Really, it is.

It’s imperative to have this completed tonight, because this is the last chance I’ll have for the next week to write anything having to do with words – I’m sure I’ll be making my creative juices flow plenty – because I leave Grand Rapids at 8:30am with just over 100 other kids and seven other staff members for Deer River, where we’re going to whip some high school marching butts into the best shape we can over the course of four days. The time for band camp is finally finally finally here. And I’m actually kind of stoked for more reasons than that.

We’re in Deer River all week, I hit my internship for a couple hours on Friday, and then I’m buzzing to the cities for an all-weekend rehearsal that I don’t have to teach, I just have a lot to learn. This weekend is my first weekend with Minnesota Brass, the DCA corps that threw my moving back plans out of whack in the absolute best way possible, and I’m finally getting a chance to perform as I’ve desired to for so long. I’m so grateful for this opportunity, and I can’t wait to get started this weekend.

After I return from the cities, a couple more days, and boom. It’ll be August. Tall Timber days at home, visiting with my roommates in Michigan, another rehearsal with Minnesota Brass, a camping trip with three of my best friends from high school, plenty more rehearsals in Rapids where I’m teaching, a show weekend with Brass, and lots lots LOTS more packing. Which is why I started today.

Last time I was packing in a major way was the second time I moved out, and the first time I was actually bringing things I cared about with. Moving out for a much longer extended period of time, and for a completely different reason. So this is my third go-round in the moving out thing, and it definitely feels different. I feel like I want to bring more with me, and I want to get rid of a lot more. I’m ready to really and truly move out, to let my parents convert my bedroom into whatever they need the room to be. I’m ready to completely move on with my life; to move on from what I was in high school, and immerse myself again in my plans and hopes and dreams for the future. March drum corps on the field in 2015, change my minor to that Arts Management stuff, keep doing the radio things, go to Iceland with some really cool people and hear awesome music, etc., etc., etc.

It all started today. Er, yesterday, now. But it’s time. It’s finally time for me to take all the posters and pictures and snippets of my high school memories, and continue to think and strive for all the things I hope to do in the future.

I could eloquently try and say the same thing over and over and over again, but that’s all I really wanted to get out there tonight. Like I said, I should have been asleep long ago, but other things made that not be a thing. Now it’s a thing. I’m going to bed, and I’m going to wake up and head to band camp — just like I did for the first time four years ago. Time to make some dirty twirls some clean twirls.

Keep on keepin’ on.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

1 thought on “Band Camp | Moving Out & Moving On”

Leave a Reply

