More Internet Problems (The Nash Grier Thing)

Not going to lie, I was struggling a little bit with what I was going to write about this week. I haven’t really been doing much since I got home besides working, training, sleeping, and binge watching Pretty Little Liars on Netflix. And since the last time I posted about an internet issue I got quite a few extra hits, I wanted to get my thoughts out there again on this whole Nash Grier thing.

From my understanding, Nash Grier doesn’t understand how to handle internet celebrity. He posted a video on YouTube about a year ago of ‘things guys look for in girls’, where he basically dehumanized women. He and two other young lads shared their thoughts with the world – including how much hair they want their ladies to shave, how much skin should show, how they needed to wear make-up, and personality traits they should have to make themselves more attractive. More recently, the issue coming up is his use of a derogatory word towards a certain group of people in one of his Vine videos. Both of these have been removed from the internet, to my understanding, but I’m sure if you want to dig more, you can find more direct quotes than I cared to find.

Kind of obvious, but these are kind of big no-nos in not only the internet community, but in the world. You don’t go around saying these things in real life, and most certainly not on the internet – especially when you have a fan base like this kid does.

Besides the obvious problems with the situation, I think what bothers me most is that he hasn’t really done anything about it. He’s clearly getting a lot of hate for it – but he also has teenage girls standing up for him. Which is crazy weird. They’re one of the affected groups in this whole ordeal! The only form of apology I’ve seen is he wrote a little note on his iPhone, screen shot it, and posted it on Twitter. He didn’t make a video, he didn’t do anything to contribute to the real world to prove he’s sorry, he just took probably about five minutes to write a little thing on his phone to post on Twitter. It baffles me that he even remotely thinks that something so small could do any repair to the damage he’s done. To the feelings he’s hurt.

I never really was a big Nash Grier fan, I’ve never really got in to the whole Vine thing, but when these kind of situations arise, it’s hard to not want to get your voice out there amidst the rest of the voices. Isn’t the internet a wonderful thing?

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

