Days Five/Six/Seven: Little Plane, Fly Away

Since I didn’t post anything the past two days, here’s Monday:

We went to the beach. I took two naps over the course of about four hours, and since it wasn’t sunny, we went back to the pool and I took more naps. This resulted in the worst sunburn of my life this far. I bought 2oz of aloe and used pretty much all of it.

Literally, all that happened on Monday. And I kind of like it that way – although, it would have been better without the sunburn.

Anyway.

While on the plane en route home, leaving LA, I was struck by an odd sensation; I’m perfectly content leaving California. Even though I had a blast at VidCon, and being able to spend at least a little bit of time by the ocean is a wonderful thing, I wasn’t feeling nostalgic for it to be a week ago so I could spend more time in California. And usually, when I board a plane, I look back wistfully while we take off. This time, I didn’t. Even though I’m not particularly excited to be going home, I know that I’m another week closer to getting to go back to Chicago. I’ve also got so many fun things going on in Minnesota this month that it shouldn’t be too long until August. And in my book, that’s the best part of all.

I think the biggest thing I learned from this trip is I’ve finally found a city that I could not stand to live in, and that is Los Angeles. No, thanks.

We got back into Minnesota pretty late, which is why I didn’t post this yesterday (even though it was written while on the plane, tweaked just now for timing purposes,) but I’m doing so now. And probably only because there’s something to let you in on…

I’m doing my first Triathlon (swim-bike-run) this month. It’s July. The month of America’s independence – and a day spent all on the lake. I’m working at two music festivals this month, we’ve got another full weekend of color guard that I actually will be here for, band camp kicks off with mini camp and then the full week, and I’m teaching a short seminar about things that I learned at VidCon. I don’t think I’ll even really have time to be nostalgic about VidCon, and if I do, it’ll probably be moreso for the friends I made and not having to be anywhere at any certain time, but the more laid-back atmosphere.

The only question that remains on the tri front is when exactly. Will it be this Friday, since my dad just said we could look in to me doing the Ztri? Or will it be next Saturday, for a race I’ve been registered for since last week? Either way, I don’t think I’m going to be ready for either of them. Time will tell, I guess.
And don’t worry – I’ll keep you posted.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

