Day Five: The Girly Day

Post-VidCon depression is a real thing, but, I think we found the perfect way to battle it. And that is to spend time with long-distance friends at one of the happiest places on earth – and maybe some other places, too, I suppose.

I got to meet one of my the people I’ve been closest with for five years for the first time today. Yes, one of my internet friends (and her sister) drove an hour to go shopping with Coley and me today. We had lunch, drooled over Disney things (and spent too much money,) then drove another ten minutes to another theme park, drooled over more things (only spent a little bit of money,) got dinner, and before we knew it, it was time to say good bye.

Sarah (my internet friend) is not the first person I’ve spent time with in this fasion, but the second. I met another one of my internet friends over a year ago, and that was the first. One thing we talked about was how weird it was that it wasn’t weird at all. Since we had both spent time with other online friends, I guess there was kind of a slight expectation that it was going to be on both ends. Unintentionally. What I quickly realized, though, is that it wasn’t weird at all. I guess I’m not really sure what we did differently as friends to make it not weird, but it wasn’t so much as ‘oh my gosh I’m meeting this person’ but more of ‘finally getting the chance to hang out with this person.’

Maybe it helped that we had something to do, and maybe it also helped that we both had people with us that we’re close to in the ‘real world,’ but whatever it was, it made for a wonderful day.

Besides that, today was pretty chill. It was exactly what we needed after a full weekend of VidCon, though. And tomorrow is just more relaxation – beach day, we’re ready for you. 

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

