Day Three: 15 Hours & The Line Situation

Today was completely amazing. Like, oh my goodness, I’ve been trying to think about how to start this post all day, but once again, nothing can suffice but “wow, wow, wow.” 

 It started off with a line. As so many things at vidcon do. But this line was just to get into the convention center at all. It was kind of unreal, but it provided me with the first “new friends” experience of the day. That’s been one thing that I’ve been learning here – bonding in a line is one of the most rewarding experiences. It reminds me a lot of my high school marching band – you never know exactly how long you’re going to be stuck in this place with these people, so you might as well make the best of it. 

 Anyway, I finally broke past the mob of people and made it in for the tail end of a panel about crowd funding, which was especially interesting in light of the founder finishing up for northern community radio this week. It was interesting to think of it from a different perspective than I knew they were talking about, and I found this to be a common theme for myself throughout the day filled with panels. Probably my favorite of the day, and not only because it was the one panel I didn’t have to go to completely alone, but the sound design panel I found so helpful and informative, again, looking at it from a different perspective. I was able to approach this from the viewpoint for Audio Drama, since I’m a part of the new club at Columbia that kind of works with that, and I learned so much about how to properly use sound effects, and how you can make them enhance a story even more – and kind of got a little too excited at the Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound set up – my, my, my. VidCon, you know how to please a girl.

 I was afforded the opportunity to attend three more panels – building communities, how to YouTube (for the presentation I need to give at the end of July,) and also staying an independent from a corporation. It made me actually forget to eat lunch – running from panel to panel for the entire day will do that to you – but everything was interesting and informative and opened my eyes to other things in ways I hadn’t thought of them before – all in all, it was a good day. But it didn’t stop there.

 I went to try and grab a spot in another line for a show, and I ended up running into Luke Cutforth (LukeIsNotSexy), the first YouTuber I saw walking around without a massive crowd around them. I waited probably about two minutes and got the chance to chat with him for awhile. He is so nice, and I definitely hope to be able to start watching his videos on a more regular basis. I got to the line, decided it wasn’t worth it, and headed on upstairs to try and find something else to do, and who do I run into but Luke Thompson (Mippey5!) Luke is someone I’ve been able to kind of work with in the past, and it was a different experience talking with him. I really do hope to have the opportunity to work with him again sometime down the line – so we’ll just have to see what happens there. 

 Coley and I went and grabbed coffee, dinner, and charged our phones up enough to last us through the night. And then I checked twitter. Emma Blackery, probably one of my absolute favorite YouTubers, tweeted that she was going to do an impromptu meet-up somewhere around the convention center that evening. I booked it back to the plaza, stood in line for about an hour, and actually got to have a real conversation with her. While I was in the line, I experienced the whole “VidCon line = new friends” thing, and we actually talked to her all together (And got plenty of pictures, of course.) This opportunity was really, really cool – both her and Luke Cutforth I had never really made contact with before, so I gave them each my business card and told them a little bit of what I do – radio – and offered my assistance should they ever need it. And Emma genuinely seemed to think it was truly very cool and that she might take me up on that at some point in time. Even if that’s all an act, I’m so grateful to have even had the chance to meet her and both of the Lukes I got to chat with today. YouTubers are great people.

 Fast-forward to about 8pm, and I’m back in line with Coley waiting to get into the Kia MainStage again, but this time, for a concert. We became friends with the people around us in line – via dancing, some singing, social media, and just being friendly (I guess.) We found out that we have a lot of the same interests in panels we all hope to attend tomorrow and the people we regularly watch on YouTube. We talked about the scandals that came out earlier this year and danced to the live music we got to experience together. It was pretty awesome. 

 I feel like there’s so much more I could talk about from today, but It’s almost 1:30am, we’re leaving for the convention center at 7:45am tomorrow morning, and it’s going to be another long day. Even longer than today was. I’m so excited to continue this journey that is VidCon, but I’m so sad that it all ends tomorrow already. I’ve heard there’s a post-VidCon depression, and I can already almost feel it starting to set in. 

But for now, I need to catch some SERIOUS Z’s. After a solid 15 hours of nothing but excitement, you get a little worn out. So…yeah.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

