Day Two: Taking it Easy

Wow, wow, wow. That’s all I can say so far, really. 

It’s currently about 3pm, and I’m going to be stuck waiting in line for at least another twenty minutes, so I’m deciding to put this iPad to use and start writing my blog post for the day. 

So, we got kind of a later start today, since there’s not as much going on for the community track today as there is the rest of the convention, and we started with the expo. Which, what we saw of it anyway, was awesome. There’s a silent disco dance party, a bunch of free things, manicures, games, almost anything you can think of is in this huge room. 

My favorite part of the expo? Getting the chance to meet some people from school. Yes, Columbia College Chicago has a booth at vidcon, and I met one of the people I’ve been Facebook friends with for over a year and another film student that’s in my “grade.”  We made a video for instagram which you can find here, and did some networking (which we’re programmed to do, as Columbia students.) There’s talk of a Columbia student meet-up at some time during the conference, and I’m beyond excited for that already. I love my school so much.

After the expo, we scoped out the merch, took a short break in the Penguin Lounge, found a Starbucks for Coley, and had lunch. VidCon really knows how to do lunch – there’s a cluster of about eight-ten food trucks stationed right outside of the convention center, and the one we picked to eat at today, although spendy, was delicious. It was hosted by the Food Network and featured the food from a Chopped Champion – which is a pretty big deal. I had a vegan wrap, with lots of tofu and kale. We ate outside in the sunshine and it was fantastic. A much-needed break of the craziness of the expo and a breath of fresh air. Literally.

After lunch, we got in our first long line of the conference, and that was the line to see Hannah Hart and Tyler Oakley host the Kia Mainstage. We sat in line for about a half hour, spent another twenty minutes moving through the line to get to a seat, and then enjoyed an hour-long show. It was hilarious, informative (we heard some exclusive music,) and perfect for the pictures to make the non-attendees jealous.

Since we didn’t have much planned for after the show, we hung around the expo a bit more, I bought some merch, and then we chilled out and charged up our phones enough to get us back to the house.

Tai food for dinner, finishing up this post, and then it’s curling up with my book and turning in early. Busy, busy next two days. Panels and concerts for me – I think Coley’s planning on trying to go to some signings – but I’m beyond excitied to start learning and discussing the state of YouTube a bit. The fun never ends. 

I really do feel like there’s so much more to tell about today, but I didn’t take notes. Tomorrow there will be more. Maybe. Hopefully. We’ll see. 

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

