California Dreamin’

Oh my gosh, it’s already the last week of June. 

At the start of this summer, I thought it would drag on forever. I thought it would seem like a lifetime before I got to move back to the city, but then, I started making plans. I booked up my weekends, I got more jobs than I can even handle, really, and I constantly have short-term things to look forward to.

One of the first weekends I booked was this upcoming one. In fact, it was probably just a week or so after I made the decision to not march. I decided to go to VidCon, which is basically a conference for online video and a huge YouTube meet-and-greet. I called one of my best friends, Coley, and we made plans to go back in November. Bought our tickets, purchased the flights in April, and we’ve been set to go ever since.

But it’s one of those things that always seemed so far off that the time wouldn’t actually get here – like graduation, or moving out of the house – but here it is. I leave tomorrow afternoon for the cities, and we fly out early on Wednesday morning. It’s finally here!

Maybe it’s because I spent about two hours on this earlier today, but I want to use this trip to help me prepare for the Iceland trip I’ll be taking in November. One of the things we’re required to do is to blog every day about our experience, and since both of these weeks are chock full of things, I’d like to give it a whirl with VidCon. So expect quite a few posts from me this week – hopefully every day after Wednesday. But we’ll see.

I’m so ready to take a break, even though I haven’t spent a full week in Grand Rapids pretty much since the first week I spent here post-school. 

So here we go! Time to finally finish packing. Cheers. 

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

1 thought on “California Dreamin’”

Leave a Reply

