Review: The Fault In Our Stars

It’s been a week since I first saw The Fault In Our Stars, and I’ve wanted to write about it (believe me, the two-sentence-long draft is sitting on my all-too-cluttered desktop,) but I haven’t felt like I’ve been able to form a coherent thought on it besides the typical “oh my god, it’s so good.” So of course, now that it’s midnight, and I need to wake up early tomorrow morning – I’ve been hit with a stroke of inspiration. Prepare yourselves – here we go.

I read the book right about when it first came out. I had been following John and Hank (the author of tfios and his brother, aka, the ‘vlogbrothers’) on YouTube for just a couple weeks, and I finally was sick of hearing nonstop about this book. I decided I must read it. So I did. I don’t know if it’s the fact that I didn’t really have much going on in my life at that point, or if it really is because it’s one of those books you just can’t put down, but I finished it in less than twenty-four hours. I read it while I was hosting my music show, I stayed up late to read it, and I read through all three meals; (Aside: I’m not much of a reader.)

I even recommended the book to my radio mentor, and she replied with, “Hm, John Green… I think I interviewed him a couple years ago about another book of his.” I immediately freaked out and (only half way joking,) asked if she thought I could interview him on TFiOS. She thought for a second and said, “yeah, I think we could make that work.”

Before I knew it, it was October 2012, and I was interviewing John Green about his New York Times bestselling novel, The Fault in Our Stars. This was about the time when the negotiations for the movie were being negotiated, and he was still very skeptical about the possibility of a movie actually happening.

Fast-forward to now. I’m set to head to VidCon to be with people who enjoy online video just as much as I do, the movie is out, more people are in love and being tortured by this story than I even want to think about, and the movie is set to become probably the icon of our generation. Having considered myself a nerdfighter “before it was cool,” I like to think that I kind of helped play a part in it, even though, obviously, I didn’t really do anything. But I feel like part of the group that kind of helped get it off the ground. I got a couple dozen people to read the book – even lending out my kindle a few times so my friends could read it. I’ve been able to discuss and cry and laugh over it. I’ve watched hours and hours worth of videos about the book and not about the book but by Hank and John. I purchased TFiOS merchandise and sported it around. I did all the things people are doing now, but I did them back before “tfios” was being considered to be one of the added words of 2014 by Merriam-Webster.

I don’t know if it’s because I strongly believe that interview is a big reason that I am where I am today, or if it’s the nerdfighter community that pulled me in and hasn’t let me go, or if it’s just because the story is basically flawless – but I cried through the entire thing the first time around. I cried for the amazing talent of all the people involved. I cried for the story of the doomed cancer star-crossed lovers. I cried for Gus and Hazel Grace and all the people in the theater. I cried for the people who are going through this every day – the people who have this as their reality.

I went to the movie for a second time tonight, and although I did not bawl like a baby, my eyes did not remain dry, even though I was almost as prepared as a person could be. I think that’s a sign of a good film though – you’re so engaged in the story that you forget what time it is. You forget what’s going on in real life. You forget the ‘preparing’ and you forget what’s going to happen next, but just for a moment.

I’m probably just overtired and I need more sleep (because hey, who doesn’t,) but I feel like I’m crazy rambling here. Cutting this off….now. Well, in a second.

To put it plainly, this movie was everything I hoped it would be and more. The soundtrack is perfect, the cinematography makes you feel as if you’re there, and the acting is phenomenal. But to put it in tfios terms:

I really like the movie. Okay?

Okay.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

