I’m Turning Seven!

Have you seen that SNL sketch with Jonah Hill? Here’s a short synopsis for you: he says “just kidding, I’m six” about thirty times in it, and for some reason, my roommates and I find this hilarious. So much so that we’ve adapted “Just kidding I’m only six!” to be a regularly exchanged phrase between the three of us, and I have to admit I’ve let it slip more than once to people outside of our circle, too. Since we’re not all the same age, we’ve been saying that anytime someone is a ‘year older’ than the youngest, that they’re seven.

I turn nineteen on Sunday, and here’s the thing with nineteen: nothing super special happens. It’s a weird age. I’ve been able to gamble, buy cigarettes, and order things off of the ‘seen on TV’ ads for a full year, but I still have a year to the next decade milestone, and another two years until I can buy and consume alcohol. So it’s weird. I can’t do much to celebrate, and I feel like I don’t really have that much to celebrate anyway. 

So when my mom asked me what I wanted to do for my birthday this weekend, the first thing that came to mind was Chicago. The place I haven’t stopped thinking about since I got in my aunt’s car to return home for the summer. The city where I’ve established myself as a hardworking, semi-successful individual. Where I know where I’m going (most of the time) and there’s always something new to try and do – and all my old favorites are there, too. And that’s what I told her, thinking it would be a long shot, since it was already Tuesday, and she said that she’d think about it. The joy that coursed through me at even having the last-minute-trip be an option was insane, and when she and my dad both said that I could go the following evening, I jumped out of my chair and dashed to the computer to book my ticket. 

Now I’m in the cities, (waiting for the clock to strike ten so I can shower and feel at least semi-clean when I board the bus,) and technically ‘en route’ to Chicago. Even though it’s a really really quick trip, I’m not going to get to see even a handful of people that I’d like to see, and I’m probably going to be spending more time traveling/sleeping than I will in the city, I’m beyond excited. 

I’m pretty sure all of this means that I’ve picked the right place to go to school. Like I was doubting it or something. 

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

