Protein Shakes, Sock Tans, and an Internship… Word Vomit (III)

Alright, so, I’m in the middle of my first day at my internship. I’m drinking my lunch (a protein shake, which I’ve had far too many of this week already,) and it’s a beautiful day outside. Which is why I’m sitting outside by the station’s ampitheater listening to segments, drinking lunch, and writing this post. I’m tri-tasking, I guess you could say. And it’s kind of awesome. 

But, as I’m sitting outside on this gorgeous northern Minnesota summer day, I can’t help but have my f<(mily in mind. They’re all moving in today. They’re moving in to have one of the most outstanding, rewarding summers of their lives. And here I am. Soaking in the rays I can while I have lunch, write a blog post, and work on one of my big production projects of the summer. Like I’ve said before, don’t get me wrong, I love my internship and I’m so excited to be working with the station that I’ve grown up with, and I can’t wait to get rolling on the summer with both NCR and the GR Marching Band, but there are lots of other ways I would have loved to do this summer, too. It was have been a dream come true to move in with Spirit again today, and it would have been a blast to spend a summer in my city, but I know that living at home and working all summer was the smartest move.

And really, it could be a much bigger “sacrifice.” I could be working two jobs at two different local businesses that wouldn’t be giving me experience in my chosen career. I could be waitressing or being a cashier. I’m so lucky that I get to work when I can for three of my summer jobs, and that the one that’s scheduled isn’t awfully terrible. I’m even more grateful that three of the four jobs I’ve got directly relate to what I want to do with my life, and that the fourth will help out my mom’s business. Really, it couldn’t be a sweeter set-up to be working at home in small-town-Minnesota. 

###

One thing that’s weird about being home is the knowlege I have of the local business scene here. Especially for the food/breakfast/lunch situations. The thing that made me want to talk a bit more about it especially is our herbalife storefronts. For some reason, I really like having those dang shakes. I’m really not sure if they’re as good for you as they claim to be, but man, do they fill me up and keep me satisfied for a long time. Plus, they taste really good. It’s such a weird concept. I’m not sure if I like the whole thing, but I like the shakes. And for $7 for a meal, you can’t complain too much. You sure can complain a bit, but you can’t complain forever. I’m forseeing myself spending way too much money on this this summer. 

###

Alright, I’ve really gotta get some recording done, so here goes to finishing off the promo for today. Cheers. 

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

