And That’s a Wrap

On so many things… All of my classes, the doc for my honors class, my time in a dorm, being part of ‘team meal plan’, but most of all… my freshman year of college.

It’s crazy to think that it’s already been a year since I graduated high school. It’s already been a year since my summer with Spirit of Atlanta. It’s already been nine months since I moved to Chicago and met my room mates and all of my Chicago friends. This time has flown by so incredibly quickly, and I’m most definitely not ready for it to be over already.

So, of course, me being the sentimental person I am, I’m just going to reflect a little bit on this past year, and see if I can remember a few highlights… and just… cry about it for a little bit. It’s fine.

In October, I got hired to be a student worker in the radio department. At the time, I had also just been hired as a cashier at Chicago Kernel, so I was super excited to be able to have two sources of income. Little did I know that I’d find a whole group of people at both of these jobs, but primarily, the radio department. They’re a group of people who are welcoming, kind, and just as much of radio nerds as I am.  I’ve found some amazing people here at Columbia in general, and it all started with the radio department. Maybe I would have been able to befriend them anyway, but I think that being a coworker helped my cause.

Also in October, I was brought on to the Great Northern Radio Show as the Associate Producer. This has most definitely been a huge highlight, because not only do a get a really cool job title, but I’ve learned so much in such a short amount of time. I’m given responsibilities of an adult, I’m treated like an adult, and I feel like the member of a team. It’s been such a blessing and I’m so ecstatic to continue working with them for another year, and for as long as they keep me around.

My room mate situation has been both the weirdest thing ever, and the best thing ever. Two of my room mates are two of my best friends here at Columbia, and even though we’ve been through some weird things with my ‘immediate’ room mate(s), but I’m pretty sure that’s what truly made our initial bond. I’m going to miss those two ladies to an insane extent this summer, but knowing that we get at least another whole year together brings me so much joy and happiness – and it’s in one of the nicest apartment buildings around. August is going to be, as we would say, ‘hella tight.’

Another highlight has been my Writing & Rhetoric II: Honors class, which might sound a little weird. That class has been both the biggest pain in my ass and the source of some weird joy this semester. I’ve made a digital story that I’m still pretty proud of, and a documentary in a group that has been one of the most…interesting experiences I’ve had yet here at Columbia. I finished my last paper for that class yesterday, and words cannot describe the feeling. I’m relieved, I’m tired, but for some reason, I don’t feel ready to be done with the class yet. It feels like the ending was just so abrupt and anti-climactic that it wasn’t really the ending. But it was. And it’s a strange feeling.

If you talk about too many highlights, they probably wouldn’t seem like highlights anymore, and instead they’d just turn into a list of things that happened in the year, so my final highlight would have to be the two “Chicago” things I’ve gotten to do – and that’s running all over the place and going to live shows much more frequently than I have in the past. I never thought I’d be the type of person to not only consider themselves a runner, but someone who would look forward to going to a show alone. But it’s happened – I am a runner, and I do enjoy going to shows by myself sometimes, so that’s college for ya.

And if you want to read more in-depth on almost any of these… Welcome to my blog. It’s my place of ramblings. It’s been my place this entire semester for me to throw up what I’m feeling, what I’m thinking, and basically anything I want to. It’s my place to record my college experience for now. I hope you’ve enjoyed it as much as I have. Stay with us.

 

NOTE – I do plan on blogging throughout the summer, I’m just not sure at what pace it will be. I’m working a lot this summer, but hopefully, I’ll have some good experiences to write about… We’ll see, i guess.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

