It’s Finals Week, and It’s Fine

Finals week is such a strange concept. It’s the last week of classes, and the entire time, you’re taking tests or studying or working on some final project, and maybe, if you have a spare minute, realizing that it’s the last time for awhile you’re going to see your friends from school. Going into only my second finals week, I find myself feeling very overwhelmed and stressed and already super tired. But you know that it’s all going to be over in just a few days.

It’s almost like the week before finals is worse than actual finals week. You’re still trying to cram in all you can before finals week, but maybe (just maybe) the stress is a little bit less. But just a little.

Maybe it’s just me, but last week was insane. We’ve been working like crazy on this documentary for my Writing & Rhetoric II Honors class, which isn’t even for any of my group’s majors, really, but for some reason, we’re all really invested in it. Last Monday night, we were up until about midnight, Tuesday was 1am, Thursday was 2am, and last night (Sunday) we worked on it for over six and a half hours. We’re planning on pulling an all-nighter tonight to finish it, since we’re finally over halfway done. The project is due TOMORROW (Tuesday)! Even though I know it’s all going to be over soon, and I’ll be able to sleep again hopefully sometime soon, it’s still crazy stressful.

I guess it’s just weird to think about the project being done what seems like so soon. All of the hours we’ve put into it, all of the space it’s taking up on our hard drives and flash drives and external hard drives, the sleepless nights and the time spent writing about it…. all of that will be over in 26 hours. It’s insane to even think about – and it stirs a lot of strange emotions. I’m both excited to be done with it, and sad to see it go in a way.

Besides that project, I’m actually sitting alright on the rest of my classes. I took my ethics final this morning (and even though I wasn’t able to study last night, and in turn, was feeling extremely unprepared for this one,) and I actually feel pretty good about it. I’ve finally finished the visual portion for my meteorology final project (which is due in about two hours,) I put my writing for radio portfolio together last week, fixed my production II final project, and I also finished and turned in my final-final paper for my honors class. That paper was the biggest paper I’ve ever written, sitting at about ten pages, and weighing more than two tons on my shoulders.

So really, I’ll be fine after 2pm on Tuesday. I’ve only got this documentary to finish editing and one more 1k-word essay, which really shouldn’t be too bad, since it’s just a reflection on the class (and obviously, I have a bit to say on this class, since most of this post has been about this class.)

I guess the only thing that’s really going to get me through this week is the fact that I’ve finally found Arctic Monkeys’ AM on vinyl, and the Teddy Grahams that my parents bought me at the grocery store this weekend.

So here’s to an all nighter and one more paper, because really, that’s all that I’ve got left. If you follow me twitter, you’ll understand what I mean when I say that it’s fine. It’s fine.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

