No More Free Popcorn

Yesterday was my last day at Chicago Kernel – the popcorn/frozen yogurt place I’ve been working at all school year. Even though I’ll still be in Chicago for another week, that week is finals week, and I’ve got meetings on the two days that I’m available to work there anyway. 

Usually I’m really sentimental about everything. I’ll think of it as ‘oh this is the last time I’ll clean out the salt and vinegar bin’ or ‘awww last time I’ll do dishes in this sink’, but I didn’t have any of those thoughts yesterday. I had a meeting with my doc group almost immediately after my shift yesterday, and I knew it was going to be a long night, so I was just looking forward to being done.

I also realized yesterday that besides most of my coworkers, I’m not really going to miss it all that much. Sure, I learned a few skills while I was there, and I ate excessive amounts of frozen yogurt and popcorn, but it really didn’t mean a whole lot to me. Maybe it was after I learned about all of the problems we were having (I mean, the location I was at has gone through about four managers in the ten months they’ve been open,) but it almost feels like the past eight months I spent there meant nothing. 

Basically, all I’m finding that I’m going to miss is being able to get my friends popcorn, BS-ing with my coworkers, and seemingly endless frozen yogurt. Which I think is normal of a part-time job like that – so yay for Erika being normal for once!

I’ve got a few papers to work on now, but I just wanted to get a little something up about the first of many good byes… now to hopefully say good bye to this final paper…

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

