The Funny Thing About College…

I don’t think this is going to be too lengthy of a post, but I just want to get this thought out there: my mindset here at school is so completely different from anything it ever was in high school, especially regarding homework. 

Right now, I’m currently sitting with two of my three fellow group members for this documentary we’re working on for our Writing & Rhetoric II: Honors class. We’ve been combing through the hours upon hours of footage we have of these two interviews with three different guys for over four hours now, and even though we’re all starting to crash, we still want to get through the last hour’s worth of footage we have. We all have more homework to get done tonight. We all have early mornings tomorrow. And we’re all still stressed out about the end of the semester projects and papers and tests that are coming in all of our other classes. 

I’ve never really cared this much about a group project, or spent this much time on one before. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m in college, or because I’m going to college at Columbia. 

When I worked at open house, I was telling the prospective students how my attitude towards school has changed since coming here – because it has – but I guess I didn’t realize how true it was until we stayed up until midnight together combing through footage.

That’s basically all I had to say. We’re meeting again tonight (Tuesday night, 8:30, and yes, I stopped writing this halfway through because we got busy and no, I’m not going to revise it, sorry.) But here’s to doing an entire documentary just between four of us…and finishing it within the next week!

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

