Roommates & Coworkers – Dreading the Goodbyes

Something I didn’t really think much about coming into my first year of college was the people who would be involved. Of course, I thought about the friends I might have and the relationships that could form, but I never overthought the things I didn’t have much control over – my roommates, classmates, and co-workers. Turns out, that they’re the most significant people in my life right now. Not only do I spend all of my time with them because I’m working and in class almost all the time, but even in my ‘off time’, they’re the people I chose to spend those precious hours with. 

Yesterday was the last day for one of the co-workers at my second job, and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t at least a little sad about it. It’s strange how much of a bond you can form just over about eight months, especially when you’re “only coworkers” and you really don’t have a whole lot in common, besides the struggle that is living in downtown Chicago. The whole situation taught me just how important it is to appreciate all the little moments with the people whose company you enjoy, because it’s over much too quickly almost all the time.

In two weeks, I’ll be moving out of my dorm room and back home with my family. It’s not exactly that I don’t dislike my family, or even Minnesota all that much, but it’s been a year since I’ve lived there, and that almost feels like too soon to be going back for an extended amount of time… what I’ve been dreading for the past few months is not only packing up my Chicago life, but leaving my roommates and friends here for three and a half months. Not only is it going to be a pain to pack up my material things, but it’s going to be just like last night over and over again. The good byes, the see-ya-laters (and having later be much, much later,) and that’s not something that I’m really good with. Good byes. See-ya-laters. Until next times. I’ve had so many in the past year, and I’m not looking forward to any more. 

I guess last night just put into perspective that all too soon, the nights of eating jelly beans on the floor of my roommates’ room quoting This Is The End have an expiration date, and I don’t like that. Of course, the three of us will be living together again next year, (in an APARTMENT! Yeah couches and chairs and a kitchen!) but it’s not going to be the same as it was this year. Even though I like change, I don’t like it to happen when I’m not in control of it. 

On top of that, my last day at my second job is in fifteen days, (not that I’m counting down or anything,) so I’ll have a whole bundle of good byes, see-ya-laters, and until next times then… and even though I’m looking forward to having a little bit of a break, I’m going to miss the people I’ve gotten to work with at Chicago Kernel. I’m going to miss spending a Sunday afternoon selling the crap out of popcorn and eating frozen yogurt like it’s going out of style. 

Anyway, I have a lot of homework I need to get done, so I’m going to finally get started on that. Just my thoughts for the day, I guess. The end of the semester is getting close, so the stress of school and social life and work and everything is starting to get a little overwhelming. 

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

