(Review) Ingrid Michaelson @ Riviera Theatre, Chicago IL

Last night, I had the pleasure of not only having the evening work-free, but I got to spend it packed on the floor at the Riviera Theatre at a sold-out Ingrid Michaelson show. I’ve been a fan of Ingrid’s for quite some time, pretty much as far back as I can remember, so when she announced that she was touring, and that she was going to stop in Chicago, I got a ticket as soon as I had the funds. It was a little on the pricey side, but it was completely worth it.

Image

I think my favorite part about the show was not only that it was at one of my favorite venues in Chicago, but also the fact that she is so humble. She thanked her band and the crew countless times, she referred to her roots a lot (the first time she played in Chicago, it was at Schuba’s,) but she also said “thank you” probably two dozen times. You can tell how genuine she is not only from her stage presence, but it’s also all over her Instagram and Twitter feeds. She’s such a ‘normal’ person for the position she’s in, it’s pretty refreshing and entertaining.

Aside from her humble-ness and social media presence, Ingrid is hilarious on stage. I think that if she ever got tired of singing, she could have a killer stand-up routine. She writes it off as “hanging out on the bus mode,” but something about her sense of humor makes you just want to hang out and be best friends with her. At least, that’s what I felt.

The only problems I had with this show was the audience. Again, now that Ingrid Michaelson is starting to become a bigger name, you’re going to get the kind of people who record the entire show on their iPhone instead of watching and listening in the moment. The only other thing that bothered me wouldn’t have bothered me if I found someone to come with me – and that is the girls that were standing next to me. Even though I went alone, I was still singing along and “dancing” to the music, but the group of about five or six girls next to me kept giving me weird looks and talking amongst themselves. I could be completely wrong in assuming they were gossipping about me, but sometimes, you get that feeling. And I was getting that feeling. I didn’t pay them any attention, and I didn’t let it bother me for very long. I deserved to have as much fun alone at that show as much as they deserved to in a group of five or six.

It just bothers me that you get judged for going to shows by yourself. Maybe it’s different for different genres, I sure didn’t feel judged when I went to the Flogging Molly concert or the Hobo Nephews of Uncle Frank secret show by myself, but at Ingrid and Imagine Dragons, I felt very out of place. Which is a bummer.

But all in all, I enjoyed the show very much. I’m hoping to go to the Basilica Block Party that’s in July in Minneapolis, and she’s playing one of the nights. That time around, I’ll have people to go with for sure, so I guess it’ll be interesting to see if it’s a different experience or not.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

