But Really, I’m Just Stressed

It’s about that time of year when people start showing their true colors, and it’s no different for me. My patience is shorter, my attitude is to just make it through every thing the best I can, and I’m still trying to cram as much into all of my time as possible. It’s tiring, but it’s still kind of fun to be this busy. 

After tomorrow, it’ll be three weeks of waking up very early to get a workout in, because my days just aren’t long enough to train for my next half marathon anymore. I can’t even remember how I did it earlier this season, but I’m glad I did. Running in the morning has been a completely new sensation, but it’s what’s keeping me sane and feeling okay throughout the day. Prior to starting this regime, my day never felt right until I got my feet moving quickly underneath me, but now, I feel energized and ready to take on all that the day has to offer. Like today, I woke up around 5:30 after getting only about two maybe three hours of sleep. I ran my five miles, showered, ate my normal breakfast, and had an extra fifteen minutes before I had to get to work. I decided to treat myself (and break my ten into some smaller cash,) and I hopped on the train to go a couple stops north to get my favorite tea. Got to work pretty much on time, but waited with one of my other coworkers for about ten minutes for security to come and unlock the doors. 

The funny thing about the radio department is that we’re really small, and we call ourselves kind of a ‘family’, but we really don’t know each other as well as I wish we did sometimes. But anyway, in that ten minutes, I got to talk to one of the guys that I don’t normally chat with all that much, so that was definitely refreshing. 

Got stuff done at work, networked, gave out a business card, went to class, went to my other job, ate dinner, closed, and came back to my dorm. I’ve been sitting on the floor of my suitemate’s room ever since. One of my room mates and I are currently playing the parenting role for our other roommate, we’re waiting for her to get back from “hanging out” with a boy. Yeeees a boy! 

The only problem is that I have so many other things I should be getting done right now. I have papers to write, a cover letter to draft, scripts and copy to write, pieces to produce, and case studies to find… but instead, I’m laying on the floor of my room mate’s room writing this blog post about my ten hour work day with a class thrown in the middle. I didn’t even have time today to eat a proper lunch (I basically ate lunch once I got off work)… Which was after dinner. Yeah, my life is in a weird place. But that brings me to my next point – 

I never thought I’d be this busy or stressed out in my young college life. I’m working two jobs, taking 16 credits, working on all these side projects, training for another half marathon, and still trying to have that “college experience.” There’s just so many things going on in my life right now that I’ve had to cut the strings off of things that I thought used to make me feel better, but I figured out they just made me more stressed out. And this week has taught me that I need to be able to talk to people and sleep well and take time for myself – and I’m not just talking about the running.

Maybe this post is more of a word vomit because I’ve been trying to pass time before my roommate got back from her “hang out”, but it still feels good to get it out there. And I feel like I haven’t been updating this as much as I was when I was training. Then again, as we have just discussed, I don’t have near as much time as I did when I was training for Get Lucky. 

I’m going to go crash now, and hopefully get between 5-6 hours of sleep tonight. Just holding on for yoga tomorrow afternoon (yay for having my first Friday afternoon off and free all semester!) and sleeping in until like 8 or 9 on Saturday. Maybe I am just too freaggin stressed.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

