Word Vomit (II)

I’m kind of notorious for not keeping up with blogs. I started one my Sophomore year of high school, and I ended up just using it as an online database for my school research. Then the J-Term project lasted about a month – of course, that bad boy kind of had a set expiration date. But this one, I’ve actually successfully blogged at least once a week on for almost the whole semester (knock on wood.)

Maybe that’s kind of why I’ve got a little bit of writer’s block this week – I’ve got plenty I could post about, but instead, I’ve opted for the non-capitalizing-I posts and little blurbs of things on my tumblr, and 140-character-musings on Twitter. So I have been putting my thoughts the past week out there on the internet, but none of it seemed “worthy” or “lengthy” enough to make a full blog post about it, I guess. But wordpress keeps emailing me to get my post for the week up, so here we go, Word Vomit number two.

On Sunday evening, I got the chance to go to a secret show for the Hobo Nephews of Uncle Frank – a band I worked with back in Minnesota. It was in Wicker Park here in Chicago, which is kind of known as the “hipster central.” The show took place in this guy’s apartment, they moved all the furniture out of his living room and set up a little area for both the Hobos and the band that opened up for them; a Chicago-area band called the Grasstronauts. It was really cool, not only get to catch up with a band that’s really good and that I like to think of as friends, but to be able to spend a Sunday evening listening to some great, free music in Wicker Park. Sure, I had to leave around 9:30 so I could finish a paper, and yeah, at least 85% of the audience around me was at least a little tipsy (if not, drunk,) but it was so great to just chill out for a little bit and listen to some live folk/bluegrass music. 

I think I needed that this week more than I thought. I’ve been doing a lot of stuff lately – producing for a podcast, working at Chicago Kernel and the radio department, full time student – scratch that, full time honor student – and working on applications for Student Government and to get into certain classes for next year. I’ve got a lot on my plate, true, it’s not as much as others, but it’s still a lot. I do get to take time for myself, but it’s usually falling asleep in the middle of a movie with my room mates, or getting up super early to go for a run, or falling asleep after getting two minutes into a How I Met Your Mother episode. I get time, but I also don’t. My idea of “time off” is scrolling through tumblr, or campaigning and making cookies (true, I got to eat those cookies, but it also sort of counts as campaigning if it gets you votes, right?) I hadn’t taken time out specifically for me in almost a week, and going to that little show gave me the two hours of music I enjoy by myself. I didn’t have to worry about impressing anyone too much and I didn’t have to network as much as possible. Just showing up for this event I knew I would enjoy was networking enough, and it turned out to be a very smart move. Music is powerful in that way. I started my week off right, and I got finished with my Expanded Field Notes once I got back to my dorm – after cleaning the bathroom, of course.

Speaking of those field notes…somehow, I got an A on those. I looked over those 1700+ words and didn’t even proof read, because I knew it was just going to be terrible. I guess I’m just really astounded that I even had the chance to get an A, let alone actually receive one. So that’s cool.

Hmm..that’s all I seem to have time for. I’ve got group meetings and an interview for the rest of the day, and I’d rather finish my ethics paper (or get at least somewhat closer to completing it) before I get off work in seven minutes. 

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

