Rambling: Physical Therapy (Take II)

As some of you may remember, I ran a half marathon not that long ago, and before that, I did a crash course in training for that race. It probably wasn’t the best idea, but it was really fun to do, and I thought I was being careful and not over-doing it. Nothing beat the feeling for the rest of the day after any run that was over ten miles – that feeling of accomplishment and knowing that you earned to eat a little bit of candy and drink a bit more gatorade than you probably need.

Now I’m really missing training. And getting side tracked.

This probably wasn’t the best idea. Sure, it was fun while it lasted, and yeah, I jacked up my mileage pretty quick, but it’s like during that time I was numb. I didn’t really realize it if I was in pain, and if I was, I popped some ibuprofen, stretched out, and felt fine. Now it’s over a week since the race, and my knees and ankles and even hips sometimes are yelling at me in protest. Yesterday, I did a very slow ten miles. I had to sit down, I had to walk – I couldn’t finish strong. I hurt so bad. And since then, I’ve had kinesio tape on my left knee (and ice) and a brace-type thing on my right knee. I even went to bed early last night (7pm early) to try and just let my stress melt off (even though I don’t feel all that stressed?) But whatever. Now I’m sitting at work, wanting to write a blog post about how this brace thing feels supportive and all, but it’s still hurting so bad, and how sometimes even if you are supported you can still hurt, and other emotional things like that because I’ve been watching far too much of How I Met Your Mother on Netflix. Yay spring break.

I went to the doctor’s office at home this past weekend, originally because three of my toes are now pretty black and sometimes they hurt, but then we ended up talking about my knees because of the hurt they’ve been in recently. I found out that I’ve got “Runner’s Knee”, which is also known as Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome. I had the same type of thing back in 9th grade, which is why this is entitled “Physical Therapy (Take II)”. I loathe physical therapy. Which is weird, because I like getting stronger and exercising, but I hate being forced to medically do it. It’s so frustrating, and I feel like it takes all the fun out of it. But, I know that I have to do it, so PT it is. I’ll just probably be a generally crabby person until my knees get better and I’m finally able to do my running dream of 18 miles – to the end of the lakefront trail and back (on the north end.) I was going to try and do it yesterday but then all this knee stuff cropped up. Oh well.

I know that other people have it worse out there, so don’t even think about this after you finish reading. It’s unrelated to this blog post, but it does work with this one, but donate to RAINN. Or not, and just go about your life. Have a nice day.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

