(Review) Wild Child @ Lincoln Hall, Chicago IL

Last night, my friend Laura and I made a trek to Lincoln Hall in Chicago to see Wild Child perform. There’s a little backstory, so bear with me.

About two months ago, I was listening to my local radio station’s Friday Morning Show from back home (Northern Community Radio, KAXE/KBXE.) While I was tuned in, they played a song I really liked and sounded familiar, so I shazamed it on my phone (Shazam is an app that listens to a song and then shows you where you can get it on iTunes.) I immediately purchased it, and ended up liking it so much that not so long afterwards I bought the entire album. I ended up liking the album so much that I decided to see if they were coming to Chicago any time soon, and sure enough, they were. I immediately bought tickets (they were the cheapest tickets I’ve gotten in awhile, coming in just under $17,) and I sent my friend Laura, who I thought would like the band, a link to the first song I heard. I told her about the concert, told her to check it out and if she wanted to come with how awesome it would be. She turned out to love them as much as I did, and we decided to go to the show together towards the end of January.

Over time, and after going to two other shows within about a week before this show, I honestly kind of forgot that we had decided to go, but before I knew it, show day was upon us. We ended up getting to Lincoln Hall a little before seven, just to find out that doors didn’t open until eight, and the show wasn’t until nine. Which was fine – we got cookies from Insomnia Cookies (the best cookies in Chicago, FYI,) caught up on what was going on in our lives, and talked about our other high school friends. It was perfect. We went back to the venue, got in, bought our shirts, and sat on the floor; awaiting the opening act, Robert Ellis, to take the stage.

I think it’s essential for you to know a little bit more about this venue before we get to the music. Lincoln Hall is basically just like a large, back room for a somewhat-classy bar. Most of the audience is on the floor, but there’s also a little balcony that goes around the room, and when you’re on the floor, it’s hard to not be close to the performer. We got some pretty good spots on the floor – just check out our view.

Image

 Anyway, Robert Ellis took the stage around 9pm, and he had a more country voice than I would have normally liked, but his stage presence and guitar-playing-abilities more than made up for it. Usually opening acts are slow and not my favorite thing in the world, and I don’t end up looking up their music after the show, but I’m definitely checking into finding Robert Ellis’s music. I can see playing him on my radio station back home, so hopefully I’ll get that chance.

Wild Child finally took the stage at 10:15-ish, and their presence was unbelievable. I wasn’t super familiar with their music, I know probably about five or six of their songs – that I could sing along with most of the words, anyway – but they still made me feel like I was one a devoted fan. It was hard not to feel like a hardcore fan being in a venue that small, standing so close to the band, and being surrounded by a bunch of other people who didn’t know all the words to all the songs.

They played the perfect mix of their songs – both old and new – and they even played an unreleased and unfinished song. Which was amazing. But I think the best part was when they played not only an encore, but an encore unmic-ed and in the middle of the crowd. We all sang “Pillow Talk” together, which was one of the coolest moments in my entire concert-attending life. Honestly, I doubt that any other show is going to be able to top this one anytime soon. Other than my first couple concerts, I’ve never felt so hyped about a band or a show or anything in this way. I got back to my dorm, and the first thing I did was purchase their first album and order the new one on vinyl. Man, I’m excited for that record to get here.

I think I’m going to watch the videos I took a couple times last night until I can board my plane.

Until then; sleep good and hold tight, just know that I’ll make it right.

(PS – here’s the song of theirs that I heard on the radio. You’re very welcome.)

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

1 thought on “(Review) Wild Child @ Lincoln Hall, Chicago IL”

Leave a Reply

