Rambling: On [Pre] “Spring Break”

One of the biggest stereotypes of college is the ‘Spring Break’ thing. You and your friends go to someplace that’s warmer or nicer or at least different from where you go to school, like Texas or Florida or maybe Arkansas or something, and you party for a week straight. No homework, no work, just partying. Well…

My “Spring break” (if I could even call it a break, but more on that later,) is going to be nothing like that cliché. I will admit to one college norm though – I couldn’t be more excited for this break from school.

But this is what my break consists of – Wild Child concert (that was Thursday night, stay tuned for the story on that,) going home for a couple days for the Great Northern Radio Show (tune in! kaxe.org from 5-7pm CST), getting back to Chicago late on Sunday night, hanging out with one of my high school friends and listening to records sometime over the week, and working 20+ hours in the radio department and having a couple shifts at Chicago Kernel. In my free time during that, I’ll actually be doing homework, trying to run, or record shopping. To me, this sounds like the absolutely perfect break. It’s exactly what I need. Seeing friends I don’t get the chance to spend much time with during the semester, listening to records on full blast, time to run and purely enjoy it, and making money to try and make this whole DCI 2015/Disney Marathon thing work out.

I know a couple other people (namely, my coworkers) who are doing pretty much the same thing as me for their break. In fact, I know more people who are staying at school to work and do homework than I do that are going to warm and exotic places to party it up. So why is the Spring Break stereotype drunk kids participating in wet t-shirt contests? Because that’s what society thinks we should be doing, but when it’s done, it’s actually frowned upon? It’s a confusing time to be a college kid, but then again, when is it not?

Sorry, it’s 8:30am and I’ve already been consious for four hours. That’s about five hours too long for me.

I’ll be posting twice today – probably immediately after this goes up – this one, and one about the concert last night. I’ve got a lot to say, and my flight has officially been delayed. So I’ve got some time to ramble. And we all know how good I am at that. *wink*

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

1 thought on “Rambling: On [Pre] “Spring Break””

  1. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

