Rambling: On Blogging

Obviously, I’m not going to talk about the entire internet, but just my experience with the internet in the past week. Because man, let me tell you, the internet is giving me some thoughts lately.

First off, we have the YouTube stuff that’s thrown me into a weird vortex of confusion and emotions and lots of other things I’m really not sure about. I talked about that in another post, so click on that hyperlink to see more about that if the mood so strikes.

So there I’ve got a not-so-great perception, and I want to be angry and frustrated and boycott the internet. But also last week, I uploaded my digital story on drum corps and shared it in the group on Facebook for Spirit of Atlanta (I was a member there in 2013,) and the response I’ve gotten back so far has been astounding. I can’t thank everyone enough for sharing it, watching it, commenting, liking – everything. The support is amazing, and the project is due today, so I’m really excited and somewhat nervous as to what my classmates will think of it. But the fact that it as almost 1,000 views already is so cool, I can’t even put into words. Check it out here:

 

Anyway, the third thing I wanted to talk about was this blog. It’s kind of the first and second put together, I mean, not completely, but bear with me. 

I started blogging in early December of 2013, on a different blog, with a different motive – to watch movies and write something at least a little entertaining and interesting on it. I got the idea after watching My Week With Marilyn, an Academy-award-type of film, and one that had been on my ‘to see’ list for quite awhile. After I watched it, I had so many thoughts and feelings that I wanted to share with someone…but it was in the middle of the night on a Sunday or something, and nobody else I knew had seen it, or even willing to talk about this movie at god-knows-what hour. So what did I decide to do? Start a blog. I knew I was going to be having quite the dull and unproductive winter break and J-Term, so I decided to make a little movie-blogging project on it. And the J-Term project came to be. Now, the problem with this is after watching movies and writing about them for about two or three weeks, my attention span dropped and movies weren’t as enjoyable, even if I was doing a project-type-thing with it. So that project nose-dived pretty quickly. 

Then J-term ended and my blogging stopped…for about three days. I realized I missed posting to this little thing, writing in this box, and getting emails from “someone subscribed!” or “someone liked your post!” and even checking my stats a few times a day, just to see if someone else was out there reading at least part of my writings. So I decided to make a new blog – this one – towards the end of January. At first, it was just going to be a place to post radio things (which is why the URL is ‘Erika’s Radio Ramblings’), but it quickly evolved into more of the “ramblings” than the “radio.” I think it has something to do with my senior year of high school – I would write and produce an audio essay every week through my senior year of high school. And I think deep down inside, I miss having that outlet. I miss writing a little blurb of something, and then making something greater out of it. Sure, I’ve had my production stuff and yeah, I’m in two writing classes so sometimes all it seems all I’m doing is writing, but there’s something about just thinking of something, punching the right buttons, and then someone else reading it that brings me a weird sort of joy. 

Anyways, back to my point.

I love the response some of my blog posts get, and I love checking the stats of them. Yesterday, we had people from five different countries clicking on a link or maybe even reading what I wrote. FIVE COUNTRIES REPRESENTED! That’s so cool – I can’t even quite wrap my mind around it. And really, all this is, is my feelings towards certain things and sometimes something cool that happened the day before. 

Maybe this is turning into more of a thanks for subscribing/reading, but either way, it brings me joy. So thanks for staying tuned and bearing with me in the second semester of my first year of college. Y’all are fabulous. And you help me keep my faith in things like the internet, which can indeed be a scary, weird, and strange place.

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

