(Review) Imagine Dragons @ Allstate Arena, Chicago IL

Last night, I went to an Imagine Dragons concert. Now, the last time I saw them live was a few years ago at a block party in southern Minnesota at the Basilica Block Party. And my oh my, was being on the floor there completely different than the general admission I experienced last time. And I’ve got a few things to say…

Just to get some perspective, this was before “It’s Time” completely blew up – they weren’t even one of the bigger names at the event, and last night, they sold out the Allstate Arena in Chicago. Yeah.

Once Imagine Dragons took the stage, the crowd surged forward, squeezing out any and all free spaced on the already-packed floor. Which is fine, yeah… if half the people around you aren’t drunk and throwing their cups on the ground. I can’t even count the amount of times I almost tripped on a can or cup – thank goodness there wasn’t really any room to fall.

During the first few songs, I could barely see the stage. Now, I’m not the tallest person at the party, but I was a bit taller than probably about 65% of the people there last night, and I was probably between 25-30 yards away from the stage. There was no reason for me to not see the stage. Except all I saw was the glowing sea of cell phones recording the opening graphics, and the first few songs. I’ve got a couple things to say about that. First off, it’s completely illegal. Secondly, and this is something I heard on the radio awhile ago (probably the best thing I’ve ever heard from commercial radio,) if you pay for a live show, you shouldn’t even be on your phone. You should be enjoying the music and performance you paid to see. Honestly, how many times are you going to watch the video you took? The sound quality won’t be anywhere near where it should be, it’s really hard to capture [especially] a stadium show like what Imagine Dragons put on, and even though “take a picture it’ll last longer” is a true sentiment, why don’t you leave it up to the pros? I’m sure you can find a tour DVD somewhere if you want to have a video to keep like that. Of course, I snapped my fair share of photos too, but I purposefully kept my phone buried in my backpack, because I paid to see the show, and I know that the mic and quality of my phone is below sub-par.

Just my thoughts, but maybe next time you pay a chunk of change to see a band that puts on a show like they do, you’ll think twice about worrying about getting your favorite song on video, and just enjoy it as the music washes over you.

Personally, I liked their show a few years ago better. Yes there was still drunk people. Yeah, it was outside and the acoustics were better. And I was with a group of my friends. But the atmosphere of that one just jelled better with me – it could be also because I saw my absolute favorite band (Train) later that night, too. I feel like the tickets were a tad overpriced, but then again, aren’t all stadium shows?

Last weekend, I saw Flogging Molly at the Aragon Ballroom, and loved every second of it (even though there were a lot of drunk people there, too, and I didn’t know every single word to every song.) Looking forward to Wild Child’s show at Lincoln Hall next Thursday!

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota. BA in Radio/Business & Entrepreneurship, but right now just talking too much about running shoes and a Masters Student at DePaul (Journalism). Training for the marathon with various podcasts. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

1 thought on “(Review) Imagine Dragons @ Allstate Arena, Chicago IL”

Leave a Reply

