Assignment: Bedtime Stories

(“dumb blonde”/Valley Girl accent-type-voice)

One night, I sat down with a kid, and he asked me to tell him a bedtime story. I asked him, “Did you ever hear about the cow?” And he said, “Of course not, we live in Chicago!” I chucked, and started to tell him the story of the cow who tried to fly far, far away. One day, a cow was tired of living on a farm. So that cow decided to go somewhere far, far away. With faith, trust, and pixie dust, the cow lifted itself off the ground, and flew to Saturn. (beat) “Is that the whole story?” the kid asked me, I replied “Yeah, that’s it.” And he looked at me funny, and said “I’m pretty sure that’s not how the cow jumped over the moon.”

Author: erikabunk

Raised in Northern Minnesota, Interdisciplinary major in Radio and Business & Entrepreneurship at Columbia College Chicago. Enjoys long runs on the lakefront path at dawn, public radio, and lefse covered in butter w/ cinnamon sugar. Spends too much time on Spotify, in search of the best record store in the world, and dreams of returning to Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

